What CPU to add to this barebones kit???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2008, 08:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Default What CPU to add to this barebones kit????

Hi Folks,

My motherboard died last week, i am now limping on a loaner oldschool rig from the olden days, lol.

I found a barebones kit on geeks.com http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...at=CLR&cpc=CLR which has about 90 o/o of what i need. I am not a gamer at all, but a media head.

The kit doesn't come with a processer & i need advise on which one to buy, and where to get the best price. I can't seem to find any info on which exact processer is the best one for this mother board. here is the paragraph of info on the motherboard. I would like to go with a pentium 4 if that makes scense.

"This Biostar I945P-A7 socket 775 ATX Motherboard makes a entry point for this Socket 775 barebones system! The Biostar I945P-A7 motherboard is based on the Intel 945P / ICH7R chipset with support for socket 775 Intel Pentium 4/Celeron D processors with 533/800/1066 MHz Front Side Bus and support for Intel Hyper-Threading Technology. Four DIMM sockets support up to 4 GB of memory. Key features include Realtek RTL8110S - 10/100/1000 Controller, Realtek ALC882 8+2 Channel HD Audio Codec. and Support RAID: 0,1, 0+1. There is plenty of room for expansion and adding high performance video cards with its three PCI slots, one PCI Extreme slot, two PCI x1 slots, and one PCI x16 slot. Start your system off right with this Biostar I945P-A7 socket 775 ATX Motherboard!"

Thanks for any help.
__________________

imnotbeethoven is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,661
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: What CPU to add to this barebones kit????

Are you sure you only want a pentium 4? It might be worth your while to at least go core 2. I know you can get a E1200 for about 50 bucks, and it beats pentium 4's and pentium D's. unfortuantely you'd also have to get a different mobo...
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 10:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: What CPU to add to this barebones kit????

well, basically i have to stick with what this kit has to offer, money is an issue, so a diffrent mother board is not in the mix, i need to work with what is in this kit for now & want a processer that will work with this board, so the advice i am seeking is based upon this board.


Thanks
imnotbeethoven is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 62
Default Re: What CPU to add to this barebones kit????

I sent you a message about these parts that I have available.
An Intel 775 pin Pentium 4 CPU that was pulled when my motherboard died.
It's 3.2 GHZ with a 1MB L2 cache, and a 1 GB stick of TwinMOS PC2 - 4300.



arcticap is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 10:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: What CPU to add to this barebones kit????

I am still trying to figure out what cpu will go with this rig, i have already bought the kit & want to order the processer this weekend, also... what heat sink will work with this??

Thanks for any info
imnotbeethoven is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 10:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: What CPU to add to this barebones kit????

any lga775 heatsink will work.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 10:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: What CPU to add to this barebones kit????

Thank you Phil
imnotbeethoven is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 02:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,661
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: What CPU to add to this barebones kit????

if you really want a p4, just look around in your local paper, or check the buy/sell areas on a couple of forums. As I mentioned before, they really are quite old now, so buying a second hand cpu should be what you're trying to do.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 03:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: What CPU to add to this barebones kit????

pentium 4?

but why :/

ooolllld school and sllloooowwwww
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 12:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: What CPU to add to this barebones kit????

Ok, ( pulls hair out in frustration ), i thought the title of my thread would have explained my question. I am trying to find out what processer will go with this mother board. It doesn't have to be a pent 4, i asked about that because it was one listed, if there is a better one that is in a good price range, please tell me what that processer would be & the exact model #, i would like to buy the darn thing tomorrow night & get this thing built.

Also i am not interested in a used one, but thanks.
__________________

imnotbeethoven is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP consistantly running at 50% + CPU Usage Kutabare HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 09-05-2008 10:12 PM
EP45-DS3R won't allow Q9450 overclock past 3.2GHz or retain manual voltage settings mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 24 08-20-2008 02:59 AM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
Need accurate program to monitor brisbane cpu Hookster264 Overclocking and Modding 7 09-11-2007 01:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.