Using an 8800GTS 512MB with new HDTV - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2010, 06:00 AM   #21 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Using an 8800GTS 512MB with new HDTV

would this be a good one to get for the price?
Family Daily Deal, 1 Sale A Day
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-21-2010, 11:21 AM   #22 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Using an 8800GTS 512MB with new HDTV

Depends on if you want a tv that stays flat against the wall at all times or if you want an arm so it can move around. If you want an arm based wall mount make sure it handles the weight of your tv before buying.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 10:31 AM   #23 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Using an 8800GTS 512MB with new HDTV

when playing mkv files onmy pc, whats the best codecs to have? do i really need k lite codec plus what player should i play it on? divx? or is vlc fine, i got the ac3 filter to make the audio work but the video lags on my pc .
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 10:45 AM   #24 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: Using an 8800GTS 512MB with new HDTV

You should use the matroska codec. Personally I didn't install any codec, I just use VLC which can read any video format out there.
__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 04:04 PM   #25 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Using an 8800GTS 512MB with new HDTV

VLC still requires codecs to play the files lol.

I simply use Combined Community Codec Pack. It comes with Media Player Classic and plays anything i throw at it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 06:50 PM   #26 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Using an 8800GTS 512MB with new HDTV

does it matter what player i play my file? like for quality? because i'd rather stick with vlc than divx plus when i pla these mkv files, my ram load goes to like 98%, i got 2gigs.
plus whats so good about media player classic?

and i have my tv connected to my digital box for local tv and some channels it says hd but i can't expand my screen all the way unless i use the zoom feature
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 08:27 PM   #27 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,281
Default Re: Using an 8800GTS 512MB with new HDTV

Player doesnt really matter that much unless your a quality buff.

The TV should have a setting in the settings to stretch non HD image (by non HD i mean anything lower than 1080p which is native for the screen). They usually hide that setting pretty good on all TVs.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 09:04 PM   #28 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Using an 8800GTS 512MB with new HDTV

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Player doesnt really matter that much unless your a quality buff.

The TV should have a setting in the settings to stretch non HD image (by non HD i mean anything lower than 1080p which is native for the screen). They usually hide that setting pretty good on all TVs.
i looked everywhere for the stretch setting and can't find it unless i use the zoom...and even one of the channels is hd and it says 1080 but it doesn't fit the screen all the way. and i'm stikin to using vlc
got the ac3 filter and its been better that way
maybe divx was a little bit sharper, although it wasn't worth slowing my pc down that much
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 09:16 PM   #29 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Using an 8800GTS 512MB with new HDTV

I have my 8800gts running to my 42' plasma, 5000+ BE with 2GB of RAM with Windows 7 64 bit.

I use vlc, no extra codecs, haven't run into a file format yet that won't play for me. my downloaded 720p stuff looks fantastic. The TV i run through media centre and no issues, there, uses the whole screen. So can't offer much help on your hd box.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 12-24-2010, 03:47 AM   #30 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Using an 8800GTS 512MB with new HDTV

i guess i'll try 720p and see if makes a big difference from 1080p
although playing these files my ram gets clogged up, not sure why...
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800gts G92 Vs 8800gt 512mb philbar71 New Systems | Building and Buying 23 04-26-2008 09:20 AM
Overclocking 8800GTS 512MB Cuong Overclocking and Modding 9 02-16-2008 03:33 PM
Evga 8800gts 512mb Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 23 02-07-2008 05:24 PM
Which 8800GTS 512MB Whirlwind New Systems | Building and Buying 34 01-16-2008 02:26 AM
8800GTS 512mb benchmarks Prophet Overclocking and Modding 16 12-17-2007 01:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.