upgrading video card. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2010, 10:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default upgrading video card.

hey guys, so ive decided id wanna play starcraft 2 but not on the crazy max settings just good enough to run smoothly with medium settings, kinda don't wanna spend to much on a video card, preferably under 100 or less. haha

I don't have the greatest psu, spits out 350 watts so might keep that in mind when you guys recommend me one, I was thinking about maybe a ram upgrade also, so i might as well give you a list of my specs of my computer.

cpu: amd athlon 64x2 4600+ 2,4ghz
ram: 2 x 1024gb kingston pc2-5300
video card: ati radeon 1250 xpress(lol)
mobo: asus m2a-vm

if there anything else, just reply and ill respond soon.

i kinda wanna just grab them locally instead of waiting for them to come in the mail, i hate waiting.
here's some sites that are located in my area that i can just go grab em with the recommendations you guys give.
btw these are in Canadian dollars
CBiT.ca id prefer here
Computer Avenue

alright thanks guys, ill make my decision next thursday and buy em friday.
__________________

The_Lyrics is offline  
Old 09-08-2010, 01:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: upgrading video card.

Good news if you really want to upgrade... your mobo supports all Athlon II x4's and Phenom II x4's up to 945. Go HERE and click the CPU Support List. You might need a BIOS update, but you can run 'em. If your BIOS has Advanced Clock Calibration you could grab a tri-core and try unlocking the fourth core.

I'm not familiar with those sites, and they are a mess to navigate. But you should be able to grab a 5670 for under $100.

If you are running a 64-bit version of Windows then an additional 2GB of RAM would be helpful.

Be sure to check out the Power Supply Guide to see what is good and what is garbage as far as PSUs go.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-08-2010, 05:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: upgrading video card.

well im glad i can support more higher and better processor but for now im pretty satisfied with it.

im not sure about upgrading the bios, nor how to do it, is it need to be done?
im just into getting a video card for once, and maybe add some more ram for now.
The_Lyrics is offline  
Old 09-08-2010, 07:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: upgrading video card.

If youre doing a cpu update you'll nheed to do a bios update, but for rAm or gpu........ nope
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-08-2010, 11:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: upgrading video card.

CBiT.ca*::*Video Cards*::*ATI (PCI-Express)*::*(RETAIL) (RADEON HD 5670) 512MB DDR5 / PCI-Ex 2.0 / 1x VGA / 1x DUAL-LINK DVI / HDMI 1.3
$97.96

CBiT.ca*::*Power Supply and UPS*::*Power Supplies*::*OCZ STEALTHXSTREAM 600W POWER SUPPLY
$87.95 (both sites are extremely limited of good brands)
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-09-2010, 01:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: upgrading video card.

well i dont think ill need a cpu update anytime soon.

will that ati radeon beable to run on my current 350 watt psu?
The_Lyrics is offline  
Old 09-09-2010, 09:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: upgrading video card.

No. It requires 400W minimum.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-09-2010, 10:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: upgrading video card.

That is 400w minimum i would suggest you go with a 600 to 650 that way if you decide to throw in another gpu, or upgrade your cpu down the road you will have the power to do it
heister is offline  
Old 09-09-2010, 06:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: upgrading video card.

Is there any video cards on that cbit site that will work with my current psu?
The_Lyrics is offline  
Old 09-09-2010, 08:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: upgrading video card.

If you are a dare devil like me, I'd just slap on the card.

__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Video Card Nerheim System Upgrades 4 07-09-2008 08:14 PM
CPU or video card - which needs upgrading? Striken New Systems | Building and Buying 13 08-22-2007 05:51 PM
Upgrading Video Card Talis System Upgrades 5 12-10-2006 04:06 PM
Upgrading Video Card. akasixcon System Upgrades 1 10-20-2006 02:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.