upgrading Pavilion DV 6000 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2009, 04:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default upgrading Pavilion DV 6000

I'm new to this and I'm just looking for some advice because my computer is retarded slow! it currently has i think an 80GB hard drive and the processor is the AMD turion 64 X2. I'm also running vista which I'm sure doesn't help any. So if I want to upgrade my HD and Processor can I pretty much buy anything and put it in or does it have to be compatible with what I already have? Any advice will help, thanks, also please make some recommendations on the HD and processor/motherboard. THANKS!!

Also if I replace my HD how do I keep my OS? Will back up disk save the OS?
__________________

asilva1818 is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: upgrading Pavilion DV 6000

what motherboard do you have?

and how much do you plan on spending on a new cpu/hdd?
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: upgrading Pavilion DV 6000

I'm not sure what model mother board is, but should i replace both the mother board and the processor?



Probably a few hundred dollars. How do you like your setup? Something probably similar to yours will be good, but do you like the AMD over other processors? I mainly will use it to maybe play a few games and store a lot of music, everything else I use MAC but I just go insane trying to use my HP because it's just soooooooo slow.
asilva1818 is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: upgrading Pavilion DV 6000

the computer i have in my sig cost me around £250 GBP

but yeah the setup i have does what i need it to do and much more

not sure what that is in dollas

and if ur doing only a lil bit of gaming you need that much of a good graphics card but a good enuff one to play the game you play

how much songs in GB do you have? you may need a bigger HDD


and we need to know what kind of motherboard you have so we can see what cpus you can put onto it as you cant just put any kind of it
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: upgrading Pavilion DV 6000

Since it has a Turion cpu I am guessing your system is a laptop which means the only things you can realistically upgrade are the hard drive and ram. While you can technically replace the cpu any performance increase wouldn't be worth the cost and hassle of having to completely disassemble the laptop.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 05:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: upgrading Pavilion DV 6000

if that is a laptop he is right no point in upgradeing it

unless you sell that if it is a laptop and buy a desktop

heres a mobo and CPU you could use for a desktop

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 Wolfdale 2.8GHz 3MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-E7AUM-DS2H LGA 775 NVIDIA GeForce 9400 HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

thats $238 for the mobo and CPU plus your need a case PSU graphics card(unless you use onboard) and ram
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 09:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: upgrading Pavilion DV 6000

Newegg.com Shopping Cart

Cheaper and better.

Edit: Meant to link you to this..
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading a HP Pavilion A1440N - Graphics Card/PSU. Spikey00 System Upgrades 2 12-24-2008 07:45 PM
Possibly upgrading my computer Jason_B New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-20-2008 01:50 AM
Upgrading 3+ year old system Falconsbane System Upgrades 13 08-27-2008 03:41 PM
HP Pavilion - dv3000 - Does it perform well? apoorvasheth Laptops and Notebooks 0 05-26-2008 11:07 AM
What video card can I use with Pavilion m8277c donald_s System Upgrades 8 04-26-2008 09:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.