Upgrading Mobo and Graphics Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2006, 09:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default Upgrading Mobo and Graphics Card

Im about to upgrade my motherboard and graphics card i have about $300 to spend on upgrading. I need help choosing my mobo and graphics card i like to play alot of first person shooters like Doom 3, Far Cry, Counter Strike, Americas Army.....etc. I need a decent priced graphics card that i can play mainly any first person shooter with out lag. Thanks
__________________

Cdub89 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

First tell the specs of your system.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 09:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Xg Sidewinder Case, Intel Pentium 4 2.66ghz, Ecs RC410/800, 512 ram, WD 80G the reason why im upgrading is cause the motherboard that i bought has a built in graphics card and its not to great.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Since you're gaming, you really need more ram....at least another 512mb. On your current motherboard, do you have a PCI-e slot or AGP slot?

EDIT: Nevermind I just looked it up, you have a PCI-e slot. So you do not need to get another motherboard. You can just get more ram and a gfx card. For the graphics you could get a 7600GT.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 09:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

I have a pci slot the memory is ddr2 and i did plan on buying atleast another 512mb of ram
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 09:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

A 7600GT should do you fine, it's like $130-200 range. Like this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150182
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 09:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

http://shop3.outpost.com/product/490...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG This is the mobo i have now and i bought this graphics card http://shop3.outpost.com/product/489...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG and the card would not fit into the slots on my mobo.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 09:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

You don't need another motherboard, because your current has a PCI-e slot which that 7600GT can go into. Just put in the 7600GT, disable the onboard, and install the latest drivers for the 7600GT.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Ok thanks for explaining that now that other graphics card that i posted above was it not PCI-e slot by the way does that e stand for express?
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 09:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Did you put that gfx card you bought into the orange slot or white slot? The orange slot is the PCI-e slot. The white are the PCI slots.

EDIT: Yes the e stands for express.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.