Upgrading with limited funds - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2007, 07:03 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirdLeft152 View Post
yeah just oc a little, hit 3ghz+ and then an 8800 will do just fine. i doubt they're will be a HUGE difference in performance anyways.
My mobo cant oc i dont think. Its a Ecs RC410/800-M its a cheapy mobo but it gets the job done.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 09:04 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

oh... i see what i would do is use ClockGen, a bit to overclock it a bit, it can get u the extra push the CPU needs, then remove the program, hope that helps, but bottlenecking really shouldn't occur, so i really wouldn't worry
__________________

veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 10:11 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
oh... i see what i would do is use ClockGen, a bit to overclock it a bit, it can get u the extra push the CPU needs, then remove the program, hope that helps, but bottlenecking really shouldn't occur, so i really wouldn't worry
Cool so just download that program and it will Oc it? Also do i need a aftermarket cooler for the Cpu?
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 10:16 PM   #24 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

Don't overclock with a program...you need to do it in BIOS if you want to be see safe. The stock cooler can overclock a little bit.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 10:19 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Don't overclock with a program...you need to do it in BIOS if you want to be see safe. The stock cooler can overclock a little bit.
Like i said earlier my mobo can not oc in the bios.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 10:56 PM   #26 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

Then don't do it with a program...thats dangerous.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 11:00 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Then don't do it with a program...thats dangerous.
So just get the 8800GTS and call it a day?
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 11:05 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

i guess... ya... thats ur only option...
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 11:07 PM   #29 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

Um you don't have to go all the way...just get something better than a 7600GT.

I suggest the X1950XT for around 180 bucks if you don't wanna blow 270 bucks.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 11:49 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Upgrading with limited funds

yeah the x1950xt is a really good card.

probly the best bang for buck right now in gcards
__________________

kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Upgrading Old PC techsquad New Systems | Building and Buying 30 05-16-2007 11:02 PM
Upgrading help valcan222 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-12-2007 07:21 AM
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM
How do I limit internet access on a limited account on Windows XP Home Edition? gmanr26 Internet Software and Browsers 3 04-02-2007 10:40 AM
Upgrading Computer. alex12345 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-28-2007 03:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.