Upgrading a laptop... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2007, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134
Default Upgrading a laptop...

Hey everyone, haven't been on in a long time, been pretty busy. You all have helped me in the past so I thought I might be able to get your help again.

My grandpa gave me his old laptop, which is basically in brand new condition. Except for the fact he doesn't believe in defragmenting a harddrive so the harddrive is a mess. Thats where the upgrade comes in though.

Is it possible for a DIYer like myself to upgrade the harddrive, and processor in a laptop?

My laptop is an Acer 3502 LCi. I definatly would like to upgrade the harddrive, its only 40 gigs, and I'm going to be using the computer for school and I'd rather not lug around an external harddrive.

The laptop uses a socket 479 processor, and I know there are core 2 duos that would work for it, but I'm not sure if I can do it myself. Which I would rather do.

That is all for now, I really appreciate any help you can give me

Jared
__________________

__________________
NZXT Apollo
Gigabyte 965P-S3
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Corsair DDR2 667 Value Ram-1 GB
SilverStone NT06
2x300GB Maxtor Hard drives
Sony DVD Burner
19\" Dell LCD Monitor
jared17 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 12:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

well i would guess so as you can buy bare bone kits for building your own laptop. The parts are suppose to be expensive though . I would upgrade if I was you get some more ram a 2.5" harddrive i think are laptops and a T series core 2 duo an you will have a good machine.

Matt
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 01:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 134
Default

Thanks for the reply Matt. I was looking at the T series core 2's. They are about the same price as desktop processors so thats not a huge deal. The processor I can deal with for right now, its the lack of memory and storage I want to address first, but I'll definatly be replacing the processor soon.

I wasn't too sure what size of hard drive a laptop had, thank you for clarifying

They look pretty pricey too, but thats a price I'll have to pay I guess.

Jared
__________________
NZXT Apollo
Gigabyte 965P-S3
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
Corsair DDR2 667 Value Ram-1 GB
SilverStone NT06
2x300GB Maxtor Hard drives
Sony DVD Burner
19\" Dell LCD Monitor
jared17 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 09:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The Hard drive can easily be upgraded. (just find out if its ATA or SATA)

The Core 2 Duo will only work if you have a 945 chipset or higher and you have the latest BIOS. A 945 chipset with a Core Duo will not be able to run with a Core 2 duo without the latest BIOS.

I think the 479 slots are only on the older chipsets though.
turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.