Upgrading gpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2011, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Upgrading gpu

I've brought up upgrading my gpu on here a few times, but I had decided it wasn't worth it since my 9500gt can still play what I want (black ops, and more recently battlefield bad company 2). At medium settings, but it can still play. Since battlefield 3 is coming out soon, I highly doubt my 9500gt will cut it so I'm forced to upgrade. I've done quite a bit of looking around.

I don't really want to spend over $300.

I think this one is my best bet: Newegg.com - MSI N560GTX-TI Twin Frozr II/OC GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

It has great benchmarks and reviews, and has great cooling (I read around 70c on max load). Cooling is a must because my case is crap and has very little cooling besides two low powered fans. My 9500gt currently is around 68c during the winter and closer to 75c in the summer.

I've run into two problems: space and power. Space is solvable I believe. The card is about 9.5" and I measured about 10.5" from the expansion slots to the hard drive cage. So it should fit, and if it doesn't, I can always take the cage out and put the drive in one of the many 5.25" bays w/ converter.

As for the power, my crappy 500w psu has only 28A on the +12v rail. However, I think this may be okay. According to MSI's and GeForce's websites, this product only draws 170w and needs 2 x 6-pin pcie connectors. Now, 170w out of the +12 rail accounts for only 14.17A. My processor, 95w, only takes about 8A. That is only about 22.17A out of 28A. I only have 1 6-pin cable, so I'd have to use the included molex-to-pcie adapter, which should take even more load off the +12v rail and, according to this, will put it on the part that powers the drives. This shouldn't be too bad because I only have 1 HDD, and 1 dvd burner and 1 SSD...which draws almost nothing. Does this make sense?

This is supposed to be a low powered card. Tomshardwarereview.com has only 263w out of the full system and that's with a 2600k.

In the event that I shouldn't stick with my current PSU, I did find Newegg.com - Rosewill Green Series RG530-S12 530W Continuous @40C, 80 PLUS Certified, Single 12V Rail, Active PFC "Compatible with Core i7,i5" Power Supply that will just fit in my $300 budget without mail-in rebates being considered, which is a bonus, because I hate them.

With considering mail-in rebates:
Newegg.com - OCZ Fatal1ty OCZ550FTY 550W ATX12V v2.2 / EPS12V SLI Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
Newegg.com - Antec EarthWatts EA-650 GREEN 650W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready CrossFire Certified 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Builder Series CX500 V2 500W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Builder Series CX600 V2 600W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

I really don't want to spend any more than I have to, so if I can use this gpu without getting a new psu, then that will be my first option; I really want to include battlefield 3 into that $300, which I'm assuming will be around $60. If you guys think I can't, then please help me chose which psu will be the best replacement.
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 05-17-2011, 07:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Upgrading gpu

Of the PSU's you listed I would go with the Antec first and the OCZ second. I wouldn't consider the Rosewill or either of the Builder series if at all possible (Rosewill is OK but not the Builders).
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-17-2011, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Upgrading gpu

should have snagged that cx600 2 days ago for $35 after rebate
good choice on the card, MSi's twin frozr is bananas!
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 05-18-2011, 10:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Upgrading gpu

I have put the Antec PSU at the top of my list for now...but is my reasoning (in bold in my first post) for using my current psu with the 560ti is valid?
__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Old 05-18-2011, 02:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Upgrading gpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Night Fox View Post
I have put the Antec PSU at the top of my list for now...but is my reasoning (in bold in my first post) for using my current psu with the 560ti is valid?
You have an Ultra PSU. From what I have been told by those in the know, Ultra's PSUs are crap (sorry to be so blunt) and a crapshoot. It might run the 560Ti, and it might blow after a week. I would go with the Antec SAP.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-18-2011, 02:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Upgrading gpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
You have an Ultra PSU. From what I have been told by those in the know, Ultra's PSUs are crap (sorry to be so blunt) and a crapshoot. It might run the 560Ti, and it might blow after a week. I would go with the Antec SAP.
Exactly. Also, ultra is likely to over rate the power supply. Another thing is that under a high load, the Ultra PSUs tend to die. It would be best to upgrade the PSU before purchasing the 560 and retiring the Ultra PSU to a doorstop.
__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 05-18-2011, 04:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: Upgrading gpu

Okay. Point made. I'll probably get a new psu and gpu closer to when battlefield 3 comes out. For now, the antec and 560 is my plan, but I will change if anything new comes about or I find something better.
__________________

__________________
Asus P5Q Motherboard * OC'ed Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.82ghz w/ Arctic Silver 5 * OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 1066ghz * Kingston Hyper X (2x2gb) DDR2 1066ghz * EVGA GTX 560 Ti Superclocked * Ultra X-Blaster ATX Mid-Tower * OCZ Vertex 2 120gb * WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 rpm * OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU * Sony Optaric DVD Burner * Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit * 22" LG Flatron W2252TQ LCD * LG Flatron E2281

Samsung Series 7 17.3" Laptop w/ 256gb Vertex 4 SSD
Night Fox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm upgrading my ram samuelleeb System Upgrades 2 12-15-2008 02:25 PM
I'm upgrading my ram samuelleeb New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-13-2008 08:58 PM
Upgrading. JDGreen92086 New Systems | Building and Buying 27 07-25-2007 09:04 PM
Upgrading PC Kazo0 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-26-2005 09:42 PM
Upgrading CPU tommy8748 System Upgrades 11 10-17-2005 01:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.