Under $1500 PC Here's what I built - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2007, 07:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Under $1500 PC Here's what I built

Hey guys, this is what I'm going to build for my PC for under $1,500.00 tell me what you guys think if anything I should change.... Thanks


http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/...Number=4312111

I was debating on whether I should get Vista now or later but then if I get it later, thats gonna cost me another $100.00+ for the upgrade so might as well get the whole thing which is just about that price.

I know that Vista is a little buggy right now but Microsoft is gonna fix that, I hope *crosses fingers*

But thats what I came up with. Is my PSU going to produce enough power to handle my graphics card?

I think the Graphics Card needs something like 12V rail with 28Amps but I dont see any PSU that has that, maybe there's some conversion or anything like that or something. Not sure, but that PSU has 12V 18Amps not 28 hm...... do I add both the 12V to get higher than 28 Amps?

Thanks

If you have comments, suggestions, or anything about my build, please tell me so I can adjust it that way when I order it, I wont mess it up. Hopefully that comp will last me for 5 years or so.
__________________

pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Nice system you got there. That PSU is enough for your system. You add the two +12V rails together, so it really has 36 amps.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 07:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default

Thanks for the quick reply. Hehe, I've also read that only Office 2007 will work for Vista and no previous versions. I wonder if this Vista comes with like at least Microsoft Word and maybe some Excel and Powerpoint because those are really the only things I need. Haha

My Office 2003 is not my copy, lol. A friend gave it to me. I shouldnt be saying that here lol. But ye, I was thinking of installing that same CD on Vista but I guess that wont work especially that Microsoft's security in Vista is soo high now. I have Macromedia MX 2004 for free as well. LOL, *evil*

But ye, thanks for the reply. I'll come up with the money to get Office 2007 legally.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 07:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Thats a very well and very informed build. I really can't recommend any changes at all, nice going!!~
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 08:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Vista?

Ew.


XP Pro.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 08:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i have a not so legal copy of office 2007 and it works fine on vista
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 03:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Default

not-so-legal?

you mean a multi-user edition, right?

Imma run Vista Basic as a secondary OS in a few months...
like when Crysis and Supreme Commander are ready.
Only for DX 10. outside of that...XP.
Macntech is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 07:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default

I personally wouldn't go with a Samsung HDD, Seagate and Western Digital do fine for me.
Okitasoshi is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 07:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Office 2003 still works on vista
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 07:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

y did u take 64 bit? it has lack of driver support and some otehr issues u have to deal with, so get 32 bit (unless u got ultimate which i hear that u get both versions?)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.