Trying to buy a decent gaming computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2006, 11:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default Trying to buy a decent gaming computer

I'm trying to find/buy a computer that is decent for gaming. I came across this computer and it doesn't seem too bad. However, i had a few questions about it.

http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...0072977&catid=

I'm trying to keep the price at $1000. So i was thinking of adding a new video card and adding another half a gig of ram. My question is, it says that the video card is nVidia GeForce 6100 GPU With Up To 128MB Of Shared Video Memory. I heard that shared memory is bad, can anyone tell me how it works.
It also says that there is an open PCI express slot. However, it doesn't mention that the video card is integrated, so does that mean it supports SLI or did they just make a mistake.
I was planning to get this video card, http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...Sku=E145-7858.
If anyone has better suggestions about another video card, please let me know, but remember, it has to be $250 at most.
Anyways, in general, if i was to add the video card and another half a gig of ram, would this computer be good for gaming?
Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 11:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to jdon285 Send a message via Yahoo to jdon285
Default

You could build or have someone build you a much nicer system for that kind of money
__________________

jdon285 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 11:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Which stores/websites do you reccomend? I live in Canada.
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Newegg.com FTW. However I think they do not send out to Canada, but I may be mistaken. Umm, does Tigerdirect send out to you guys?

Basically you can build a system for 1000 ALOT better than anything you can get prebuilt. My system in my sig costed around 1,280 when all was said and done, and when I priced it out on alienware or cyberpower, I saved myself a good 1000 or so.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.Ē ~ Samuel Jackson

ďOmnis vir est fortunae faberĒ
JoshSB is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 11:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Which of the following RAM type is the best? DDR RAM, Dual Channel DDR, Overclocking DDR, or Oveclocking Dual Channel?
__________________
\"Next time there ain\'t gonna be no next time\"
Proximos is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 12:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Proximos
Which of the following RAM type is the best? DDR RAM, Dual Channel DDR, Overclocking DDR, or Oveclocking Dual Channel?

lol ok slow down


They are all teminologys.


DDR ram stands for Double Data rate. But then came along DDR2, the sucsessor of ddr.

DDR2 is mainly much higher bandwiths and speeds of course.

DDR is Used on almost all AMD CPU's. The new AM2 uses DDR2.

DD2, Is used on all 775 P4's and all the Intels. Im not sure about the older intels as Im not knowledgable about them as some of the others...


Now when they say Overclocking ram, they mean its capable of high speeds, so it can keep up with the CPU.

example.

CPU FSB (290) X Multiplyier (10) =2.9 GHz wich is say is your max potential overclock.

Now if you ram only does 260 MHz then that means its not fast enough to catch up.

So you would then have to set aside the 1:1 Ratio and turn to your freind, the divider.

Now you can speed you ram with higher voltages. This is where Good OC ram comes in and not so good.

You can get some really good Mushkin ram that does 3.0 voltage :amazed: or, Where are you get cheap PC3200, Your lucky if you can get 220 MHz

But if you get some nice OCZ Platnium DDR500 that can do 260 270mhz and above.

In terms of performance there isnt a huge diffrence between high performance ram and cheap ram....as long as they supply the same amount of physical ram then they should seem the same. Some apps like Super PI, Fast ram helps and such.

I would get into timings and such but I think I got you covered


EDIT: Stick with dual channel
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to jdon285 Send a message via Yahoo to jdon285
Default

Quote:
lol ok slow down


They are all teminologys.


DDR ram stands for Double Data ram. But then came along DDR2, the sucsessor of ddr.

DDR2 is mainly much higher bandwiths and speeds of course.

DDR is Used on almost all AMD CPU's. The new AM2 uses DDR2.

DD2, Is used on all 775 P4's and all the Intels. Im not sure about the older intels as Im not knowledgable about them as some of the others...


Now when they say Overclocking ram, they mean its capable of high speeds, so it can keep up with the CPU.

example.

CPU FSB (290) X Multiplyer (10) =2.9 GHz wich is say is your max potential overclock.

Now if you ram only does 260 MHz then that means its not fat enough to catch up.

So you would then have to set aside the 1:1 Ration and turn to your freind, the divider.

Now you can speed you ram with higher voltages. This is where Good OC ram comes in and not so good.

You can get some really good Mushkin ram that does 3.0Voltage or, Where are you get cheap PC3200, Your lucky if you can get 220 MHz

But if you get some nice OCZ Platnium DDR500 that can do 260 270mhz and above.

In terms of performance there isnt a huge diffrence between high performance ram and cheap ram....as long as they supply the same amount of physical ram then they should seem the same. Some apps like Super PI, Fast ram helps and such.

I would get into timings and such but I think I got you covered
Very nice!!
jdon285 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 01:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jdon285
Very nice!!

__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.