SSD Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2010, 08:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default SSD Upgrade

Asus P5q motherboard
Ultra LS500 PSU
Intel Q9400
WD 500GB
Windows 7 Home Premium x64

Above are my current specs (well, the necessary ones...if you need something else, then please ask). I've been looking at SSD's for quite a while now and I believe I've found the one I want to purchase: OCZ Vertex 2. I am planning on taking out my old hard drive, put in this SSD, go into the BIOS and boot from Windows 7 install disk and install it on the SSD. After reading some reviews, I got to thinking that this may not be as easy as described above. I read something about ICH9R controllers not working with this SSD...is this only for RAID...? I'm not planning on any RAID setup. Will ICH10R controller work just fine?

Also, I'm not sure what to do with my old hard drive. Can I just plug it back in after installing windows 7 on my SSD, and then copy all of the files to an external hard drive, and then format that drive, then put everything back on? Or is there a better way?
__________________

Night Fox is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 09:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: SSD Upgrade

SSDs are fine, They're just like any HDD, just a different interior. I have one as well.

With the old drive, you can just put it as a secondary drive. Easily done. No format needed.

Just for a precaution, you want a bigger SSD drive. I previously had a 30GB OCZ SSD, and I was crying for space. Get this:
Newegg.com - OCZ Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTXE60G 2.5" 60GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 01:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: SSD Upgrade

A fast SSD will always make things better and a computer more enjoyable. You can simply use your other drive for bigger programs and storage.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 04:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
OCZ SSD Enthusiast
 
Night Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Default Re: SSD Upgrade

So this SSD (or the one mindovermaster recommended) will work fine with my motherboard, etc? I don't have to do any tinkering or special changes or anything?
Night Fox is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 04:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: SSD Upgrade

Yea it acts just like a regular drive where the board is concerned.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 $30 upgrade, only a upgrade? Raven206 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-22-2009 07:56 PM
Want to upgrade to dx10 card...should I upgrade anything? ShifterControl New Systems | Building and Buying 1 10-21-2007 05:37 PM
upgrade proccessor or upgrade ram? j12 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-11-2006 07:16 PM
hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously? dartgande New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-17-2006 03:36 AM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.