Small keyboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2007, 10:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 83
Default Small keyboard

My desks keyboard tray is pretty small so I need a little bit smaller keyboard then is standard. What's a good one that is also somewhat decent for gaming. I found a few I liked but people said that they sucked for gaming. I don't want anything extravagant on it like those huge Logitechs. Just all the basic keys and maybe some media keys although I don't need them.
__________________

andrus is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 10:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

wtf you don't need a gaming keyboard....i have a $3 Lite-on keyboard and it works just great.

Don't let anyone tell you that you "need" a gaming keyboard to kick ***.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to cplEverett
Default

check this keyboard out

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16823200007

friend of mine said he liked it. also said it was small not just lengthwise, but also pretty thin.
cplEverett is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 11:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 83
Default

Well I didn't mean a gaming keyboard per se.. Just that the small keyboards I've seen have really small and thin keys like laptops. With those, it's pretty easy to hit a key on accident. I use a standard generic keyboard right now and it works fine for gaming but it takes away from the amount of room for the mouse which gets annoying sometimes.

I don't want to pay $50 for a keyboard =/...

Also, is the MX310 a good mouse? I don't want to pay more then $30 or so for the mouse.
andrus is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 11:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

MX-310 is a great mouse man
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 12:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

You use your mouse on the keyboard tray? I'd go nuts. The keys are already too far to the left to type comfortably for me, so I keep my keyboard shoved all the way to the right. I use my mouse on the desktop.

Razer for the win.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 12:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

I use mine ont he keyboard tray as well..but its not a pull out tray. it's a metal stand and the monitor shelf is only 5 inches higher than that one.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 03-11-2007, 12:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 83
Default

I don't really like using it on the tray but the desktop is too high up for it to feel comfortable using it there. The tray is at the same height as the arm supports on my chair so it's best on the tray. Also I like having the desktop wide open for when I eat there (even though I usually have a bunch of crap scattered around it anyway.)
__________________

andrus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.