Should i update my cpu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2013, 03:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 113
Default Should i update my cpu?

hi guys,

I currently have a Asus p8z68-v lx 1155 sandy socket, my current chip is a i5-2500k clocking at 4.2ghz, and my gpu is a gtx 580. monitor is running at 1920 x 1200, SSD vertex 3 for games. 750w PSU

Im seriously considering a radeon 7970 upgrade (there such good value at £200) so i can get better FPS on battlefield 4.

Im not sure if my cpu would bottle neck this gpu? ive had a look and it looks like the best cpu i could get without upgrading my motherboard is the Intel Core i7-3770, again from looking its does seem like this cpu is alot better than my i5, question is will this cpu make much difference for BF4?

BF4 is my main concern, i want 60 Fps on ultra settings Battlefield 4 Beta GPU and CPU Benchmarks which according to this i may average?, (obviously they have a better cpu, hence my original cpu question)

any help much appreciated guys,

as always, thanking you!
__________________

06Skywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 03:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: Should i update my cpu?

No you don't. You don't even technically need that overclock. I'm running a stock 3960x with no turbo perfectly fine in BF4 with a single 580 myself.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 113
Default Re: Should i update my cpu?

but you cant be running on ultra settings on bf4?
06Skywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 03:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: Should i update my cpu?

I am, with 4xAA 1920x1200. I OCed my CPU to 4.4GHz and it made no difference so I put that back to stock. The only thing I keep OCed is my GPU and I'm running the latest beta drivers.
Try to remember BF4 is still a beta, and FPS dips are not entirely caused by hardware. Right now it's mostly network and sync lag, along with other issues with the game itself. There are tons of people with 580s and above having FPS issues, but there are some like me running it fine. I only get one large dip when the tower goes down. Once all the haze settles, my FPS is back to 40+. (Every time I play it's different due to the inconsistencies I mentioned).

Another thing to remember, is visually BF4 mimics BF3 besides small details. The last time I ran BF3 it was 60+ constant. Once BF4 releases and the kinks are ironed out I have a feeling I'll be doing that same 60. (That is if I don't upgrade soon like you are).

But to add to the GPU side, a 7970 would be a great upgrade.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 03:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Student & Lover of Games
 
XGC Forsakend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,395
Default Re: Should i update my cpu?

Yea, I would upgrade the GPU if anything. Having a GTX 660, I play the game perfectly fine besides the random FPS drops. I was playing on Ultra with the 1080 resolution, GeoForce experience recommended me to drop down to Medium for some reason tho, didn't help the drops at all.
XGC Forsakend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 03:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XGC Forsakend View Post
Yea, I would upgrade the GPU if anything. Having a GTX 660, I play the game perfectly fine besides the random FPS drops. I was playing on Ultra with the 1080 resolution, GeoForce experience recommended me to drop down to Medium for some reason tho, didn't help the drops at all.
For relevance to the hardware in question, a 660 performs less than a 580. So the OP knows.

FPS dips are just the game.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 05:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Student & Lover of Games
 
XGC Forsakend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,395
Default Re: Should i update my cpu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
For relevance to the hardware in question, a 660 performs less than a 580. So the OP knows.

FPS dips are just the game.
=(
XGC Forsakend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 05:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 113
Default Re: Should i update my cpu?

thanks guys,

I think i will upgrade to the 7970, my current card gets around £150 on ebay so it isnt even that much money to upgrade!
06Skywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 06:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: Should i update my cpu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by XGC Forsakend View Post
=(
Lol sorry man, it's the truth. BUT, it's still a real good card either way.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 06Skywalker View Post
thanks guys,

I think i will upgrade to the 7970, my current card gets around £150 on ebay so it isnt even that much money to upgrade!
Seems like a lot for a card 2 gens old. I'd be lucky if I got 150 USD for my 580.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.