Restarting trying to build a computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2005, 09:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default Restarting trying to build a computer

Hello again:\ Though I'm glad to be back on the computer doing stuff again I'm still in need of a new computer... so here I am

About a couple months ago I went on this forum and about four others and posted and learned a crap load about all the new parts that had come out and what ones where the "cream of the crop". Now its been a month or too and I'm looking to get a list done and just build the dang thing.

I'd like this computer to last as long as I am at home which will be for.... *counts on fingers* three years if I go to a college in town here for one year for generals.

I really don't wanna have to overclock any parts because I've never done that sort of thing... Plus I'd like to keep the three year warranty on the cpu, etc.

Looking at some forums I've noticed that people are starting to tell everyone to buy a opteron CPU. I'm kind of confused as too what all this talk is about and if I should change my CPU from a 3800 X2 to something else.

Here is my old computer parts list that I hope you can revise:

----------
Cpu: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core processor 3800+
^Toledo or just stick with manchester...
----------
Hdd: Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 - 250GB
----------
Graphics card: 7800GT<==Must change the model/brand to something tho...
----------
Cooler master centurion 5

----------
Floppy Drive of some sort mabe...?
----------
Dvd burner NEC Black IDE DVD Burner Model ND-3540A - OEM
^Donno if that is the ideal dvd burner to get anymore...
----------
Motherboard: DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
^^^
I was going to get that mobo but now that its been a while and more mobos have come out. What mobo do you think I should get.

I have no clue as to what monitor I should get

My budget is $1300 US

Thanks for all those who read this post and try to help me
__________________

__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103940

Power supply.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

Lol it actually sounds good, just get 2gigs of corsair or gail valueselect ram, and make the graphics card a 7800gtx (Wait.. unless you already have a 7800gt if that's what you're saying? If so, stick to that)
Maybe get a different case such as the nzxt trinity (in my sig) or if that's not your style, maybe the coolermaster wave master or cavalier.
Otherwise it actually looks really good, not much has changed, except for the whole opteron stuff, which I don't know much about.
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 04:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

Is this ram ok?

OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Dual Channel Platinum System Memory

EDIT: I don't have a 7800GT, I'm going to get one though hopefully

so why do you suggest the GTX...? since i'm on a 1500MAX budget... Is it that much of a performance gain..?
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 04:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I'd get the GT if it were me. It's way cheaper and you can OC it to the GTX levels of performance. There's really no reason to OC a 7800GT as it is. I'd get the GT, hands down.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

I now have decided that I'm not going to OC until I have to...

I would OC but when I build the computer it will be the only computer in the house and if the OC for some reason kills the CPU or in worst case all the parts then I'd be out of a computer since the computer I'm using right now is runnin at 780mhz with upgraded 300+mb of ram... and its not going to last forever...

I'm hoping to start out at least with 1 gig of ram. Because I do plan on playing some games.
I'm still wondering if I should go ahead and get the opteron 170 or the 165 and not OC it..... or else get the 3800 X2 instead.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 05:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

i would say 2 gigs if u can afford it, pick up some Corsair or Geil ValueSelect

and I would get the Opteron 170, but thats just me
Spartan is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 06:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

get 2GB and wtf? didnt we spend about 30 freakin pages on your last build and you want to make another one w0w

everything else looks good, get an eVGA 7800GT
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 06:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Spartan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814
Default

ROFL
Spartan is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 06:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

>_< you even reply'd in my guide i think too... lol, if not, go there and see if it helps any (in sig)
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.