RAM question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2009, 08:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default RAM question...

Hello, I want to buy 1GB of RAM. My computer has two open slots for RAM and I want to know which would be better to buy; 2 x 512MB sticks or 1 x 1GB stick.
Any help would be great thanks.
__________________

shoota is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: RAM question...

I'd say 1x1GB, that will then leave you with a free slot, should you want even more RAM in future, provided your motherboard and OS can take some more.
Also make sure that your motherboard can take the speed of RAM that you want to buy.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: RAM question...

Well I have no plans of getting any more RAM since the computer is fairly old. Are there any performance differences between 2 512MB and one 1GB?
shoota is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 08:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: RAM question...

Well if it's DDR2 then yes, as it will work faster in pairs, so then you should go for the 2x512MB. If just plain DDR, then no.
Either way will cost or gain you about 1-2% performance though, nothing noticeable at least.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 08:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: RAM question...

Oh ok thank you for your help. I picked out this RAM Newegg.com - Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 533 (PC2 4200) Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
shoota is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 08:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: RAM question...

What's the make+model of your motherboard? So we can confirm whether that RAM will work in your motherboard, unless you know already.

I don't really know much about the quality of value RAM, I'd recommend any of the following manufacturers: Corsair, G.Skill, OCZ. They all make good, reliable RAM. The reviews for that RAM seem to indicate it's ok, though.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 08:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: RAM question...

I checked the BIOS for the speed of my current RAM and matched that. Then I checked the hp website for my MoBo (Asus P5LP-LE) and it said 240 pin DDR2 RAM. I'm pretty sure they match.
shoota is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 08:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: RAM question...

Yep, that'll work perfectly then
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 08:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: RAM question...

Thanks again for your help.
__________________

shoota is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
General overclocking question (ram) kershner Overclocking and Modding 13 01-13-2009 05:23 PM
Ram question... kershner New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-06-2009 12:56 PM
New Ram - Quick question mack Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-09-2008 07:24 PM
ram question AMD64x2_4400 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 07-10-2008 08:54 PM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.