Raid 0 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2006, 07:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21
Default Raid 0

Do you need a raid controller for Raid 0 or do you just do something with the Bios?
__________________

Avatar is offline  
Old 08-29-2006, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no for data striping you just have to have 2 drives no need for a raid control. you can config it in disk managment.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 12:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default

how about does size matter. what if you run a 120gb and an 80gb, can they still go raid 0 setup? or do they have to be identical sizes like 120gb + 120gb since it does split data evenly...
BoysNightOut is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 12:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

they have to be th same size. recomened to have same make and model.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 12:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BoysNightOut
how about does size matter. what if you run a 120gb and an 80gb, can they still go raid 0 setup? or do they have to be identical sizes like 120gb + 120gb since it does split data evenly...
They don't have to be the same sizes. However for best preformence and getting your moneys worth it is highly reccomend to get identical harddrives.

For RAID 0, if you have a 80 and a 120 Drives then the total Space would be 160GB's (since your smallest drive is 80 so 80x2 is 160)

For Raid 1 your total space would only be 80 since the 80 GB drive is your smallest.

If you wanted JBOD (Just a bunch of Disks/Drives : Basically sees any number of drives as one and combines sizes) your total drive space would be 200 GB's (120+80=200).
Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.