This PSU Enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2007, 01:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Default This PSU Enough?

A few people recommended this PSU, but then I upgraded to this GPU which says it needs a minimum of 400 watts. And in the future, there might be a lot of stuff plugged into the USBs and also another HDD hooked up. Will this PSU be able to handle this (for several years), or do I need something else?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion...le=courts+comp
__________________

RacerX is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 03:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: This PSU Enough?

that video card doesnt use 400 watts dont believe anything that says that its all about the amps on the rails for the most part and you will be fine with that psu
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 03:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: This PSU Enough?

you'll be fine that's a good brand it will run perfectly and allow for some upgrade ability in the future e.g. look at my sig
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 03:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 63
Default Re: This PSU Enough?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fade2black2004 View Post
that video card doesnt use 400 watts dont believe anything that says that...
That's odd... it says this at both tiger direct and newegg on the product information page:


Quote:
Minimum System Requirements

Minimum of a 400 Watt power supply.
(Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 20 Amp Amps.)

Minimum 500 Watt for SLI mode system.
(Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 28 Amp Amps.)
RacerX is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 04:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: This PSU Enough?

it's to keep them legal irresponsible for you running their card and because of this they look at the worst case standard scenario. look at my signature that is my gaming computer and it is quite high in terms of specs but has lower then 400W power requirement guessing it actually uses around 300-350W
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 04:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: This PSU Enough?

It can power it ....but in all honesty I would get a better PSU....you don't want to be running it close to maximum capacity all the time anyway.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 04:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: This PSU Enough?

that isn't near maximum capacity gurusan your psu is just over the top no offence, my gaming rig is superior to yours in terms of power requirements and its been running 24-7 for the last 4 months without an issue
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 05:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: This PSU Enough?

I dunno...I have a little wattage meter thing and my entire system draws about 400 watts from the power outlet....so once I get a better GPU and overclock it I would imagine it to jump another 50 watts or so at least.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 05:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: This PSU Enough?

my cpu and gpu are overclocked..... my max output is 430W with 75% efficiency so that works out to around 301W
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 06:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: This PSU Enough?

...hmm thats odd because my PSU is 85% efficient so that means about 340w.

I do have UV lights...a TON of fans including a 200mm fan....and a watercooling system...also a few PCI cards that do draw some power as well (WiFi + XFI)

Anyway it might be ok for him but for me the 750w is good as I plan on going quad core and 8800GTX or possibly a R600.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.