Is it possible to build a laptop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2007, 05:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default Is it possible to build a laptop?

Probably a stupid question, but all these **** websites with pre built laptops have obscene prices on them.
__________________

Gallente is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 06:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

It's possible, but I think it's impossible to get the parts, unless you know somebody in the business or something.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 10:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Yes, you can. Many places sell the parts.
turtile is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i know asus and msi make barebone kits
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 02:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 146
Default

Yeah..

Look for barebones laptops or notebooks. For some reason the DIY laptop market seems really small.... and the last time I looked into it, it seemed like it was more hassle than it was worth (for me at least).

When you look at a place like Cyberpowerpc.com I think that they just basically put together laptops using one of the barebones shells and all.... but their prices are pretty good (probably really close to how much it would cost to DIY) and they put it all together for you. But that would be a good place to start even if you don't end up buying one of their computers. Configure one of their laptops and see what barebones system they start out with. Then google search for that barebones shell (for instance the X5-6800 notebook they sell uses the Asus S96J Notebook.... http://www.excaliberpc.com/ASUS_Inte...id-566058.html ).

Then you would have to buy the CPU, the HD, the RAM, and possibly the optical drive?....

There are some guides online that talk about a lot of this stuff....

http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/05/...ook/index.html
http://www.directron.com/laptopdiy.html

In general, just search for "DIY notebook" in google and you should be able to find a decent amount of additional info.

Good luck!
moisiss is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for the replies, unfortunately my entire plan went down the drain. Apparently the 8800 GTX can't go in a laptop because of heat or power or something or other, and that's what I wanted in it, so I guess a desktop is needed. Sorry to change the topic so abruptly, but how does this desktop look?



The monitor I'm looking at is from Newegg. ViewSonic VX922 Black-Silver 19" 2ms DVI LCD Monitor 270 cd/m2 650:1 - Retail

My concerns are:

I've heard how much memory Vista uses, will 2GB be enough to run things like Supreme Commander and UT2007 (or UT3, whatever they're calling it now)?

Is the power supply large enough?

Is there anything wrong with it? Compatibility issues, things like that? The website says everything is fine, but I'd like to double check just to make sure.
Gallente is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if you have that much money why don't you go Core 2 Duo?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

go core 2 duo man
something like an e6600 cpu with an asus p5b deluxe mobo
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
if you have that much money why don't you go Core 2 Duo?
I don't see the 8800 under the video card area for the core 2 duo.

It's not ungodly expensive like most of the Falcon PCs are btw.
Gallente is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 02:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

try using cyberpowerpc
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.