P5B-VM pc3200 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2007, 07:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default P5B-VM pc3200

Alright so my friend is buying the P5B-VM motherboard and it says it's DDR2 800 (6400) standard. I was wondering if it is able to support DDR2 3200?
__________________

raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 07:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: P5B-VM pc3200

Yes, but why DDR2 3200?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 08:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: P5B-VM pc3200

thats half the speed and its not worth it to be cheap
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 08:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default Re: P5B-VM pc3200

Well he currently has an AMD 64 3000+ and he really wants to upgrade his processor. The store doesn't currently have any good AMD proc available (in socket 939) so he is buying a new motherboard that supports intel and he doesn't wanna spend the money for new RAM also.
raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 10:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: P5B-VM pc3200

they sell DDR2 3200? or is it DDR 3200? I don't think socket 939 uses DDR2 memory.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 10:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: P5B-VM pc3200

skt939 is ddr
dario03 is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 10:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: P5B-VM pc3200

There is DDR2-400 (PC2-3200).
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 07:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: P5B-VM pc3200

learn sumthin new everyday. who would want that ram. and most of the time here ddr 3200 is nearlly or same $ as ddr 533/667
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.