The OS, CPU, and Mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2007, 07:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default The OS, CPU, and Mobo

When installing a new mobo and cpu, is it reccomended or required to reinstall your OS in addition to formatting your HD?
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 08:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: The OS, CPU, and Mobo

yes.. because otherwise most of the time.. it'll still use your old mobo drivers with ur new board.. causing instability...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-05-2007, 08:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: The OS, CPU, and Mobo

The best option is do a reformat.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Built new PC, on 2nd Mobo, still no video display! HELP!!! imconfused Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 22 11-29-2007 10:40 AM
New mobo, new CPU, and no booting CalcProgrammer1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-26-2007 04:47 PM
Is this cpu and mobo gonna be compatible? Phase-Six System Upgrades 7 10-15-2007 03:42 AM
AMD mobo + cpu QuaziBee New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-27-2007 05:14 PM
New Ram, CPU, and Mobo!! sadisticmidget New Systems | Building and Buying 8 09-15-2007 02:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.