Opteron question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2006, 07:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default Opteron question

Is getting a dual core opteron worth it? I am looking to build a new rig this summer and i am thinking of gettin an opteron processor. I am not very familiar with opteron but i am considering overclocking it. Anyways, just wondering what some good opertons are that are comparable to an x2 4400 and fairly cheap.

also: what are the pros and cons of opteron?
__________________

__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 08:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

I'm in a similar situation, but since I'll be using it for 3D art too I decided I might as well go opteron.

I know they have a higher L2chache, and they OC better, but that's it.

I'm wondering if getting a opty 165 is fine, or if you see major boosts with a 170. (sorry to derail slightly.)
__________________

__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

i know that PZEROFGH has a 170 so you KNOW its good
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

will the 175 have the same clock speed as the 4400..i got the 175 and just got the 170 not much diffrence..iam an animation student that why i got the opteron....i would go the 170 and oc to get the best out of it unless you are willing to pay the extra 130 for the 175(i regret that)
zenyora is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Yea, they have a larger L2 cache when compared with Venices, and they generally overclock better. Thats all though, nothing else.
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Yea, they have a larger L2 cache when compared with Venices, and they generally overclock better.. Thats all though, nothing else.
so what are you saying not every 170 would oc?
zenyora is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

No, not every. Have seen some 170s not break the 2.5Ghz mark.

Rare though. If I were to buy one, I'd still go for an 939 Opteron over a Athlon 64.
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I really wish people would search

http://techist.com/showthread.php?po...faq#post604150



The Opterons are suprisingly getting better and better somehow...the week46s have been really good and I now see the week47s popping up and a 165 like mine has 2.55Ghz 1.5vcore stable

My Opteron is still on stock cooling and was able to hit I think 2.5ish with no vcore change
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 591
Default

i just got mine opteron 170 ...
zenyora is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 10:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
[B]I really wish people would search
http://techist.com/showthread.php?po...faq#post604150
/B]
That link is BOOKMARKED. Excellent info.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.