Oblivion, Bioshock on high? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2008, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default Oblivion, Bioshock on high?

with specs like this, and a good graphics card, will i be able to play bioshock, oblivion, assasins creed and most other upcoming games on high, with everything maxed out?

processor: Intelģ Pentiumģ Dual-Core Processor1 E2200 (2.20GHz, 800MHz FSB, 1MB L2 cache)1

Memory 4096MB 667MHz PC5300 Dual-Channel DDR2 SDRAM (2-2048MB modules)

going to spend about $140 on a new graphics card
__________________

tkim113 is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: Oblivion, Bioshock on high?

got for a e5200 instead, and if you overclock then yeah prob. But you need a good power supply, and what graphics card are you getting. O and what monitor are you going to use? Cause a pos could max out on a 15 inch crt lol.
__________________

harnar123 is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Oblivion, Bioshock on high?

Quote:
Originally Posted by harnar123 View Post
got for a e5200 instead, and if you overclock then yeah prob. But you need a good power supply, and what graphics card are you getting. O and what monitor are you going to use? Cause a pos could max out on a 15 inch crt lol.
ah man! i wont be able to do it? i HAVE to get a E2200, no other choice, limited on funds. My monitor is a standard LCD 17 incher.
tkim113 is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Oblivion, Bioshock on high?

for a 17" yeah you'll be fine.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Oblivion, Bioshock on high?

wow i had no idea that screen size also mattered on video performance. makes sense though
tkim113 is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Oblivion, Bioshock on high?

Its not really the screen size but the resolution. LCD screens of a certain size typically have the same resolution. 17" is going to be a smaller resolution than a 22" thus making it easier to run.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Oblivion, Bioshock on high?

What Video Card? for all we know it could be like a Geforce 6200, some people think an HD 3450 is good...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 03:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Oblivion, Bioshock on high?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
What Video Card? for all we know it could be like a Geforce 6200, some people think an HD 3450 is good...
well i dont have a video card at the moment. thats not what i am worried about at this point. all i am worried about is the desktop's spec itself.
tkim113 is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 04:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Oblivion, Bioshock on high?

the video card is what decides how well the game is going to run, everything else is kindof on the backburner.

if you don't mod oblivion to the teeth you should be fine, I ran it at 1280x1024 on an old athelon 64 rig with very little ram and a cheap 128mb radeon 300x.

texture modded right to death and on high resolutions it can still give most systems some trouble.

either way if you're using integrated graphics, i'd probably say no.
but i guess a cheap old video card like the 300x is like 40$ and should do fine on a 17".
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 04:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 42
Default Re: Oblivion, Bioshock on high?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
the video card is what decides how well the game is going to run, everything else is kindof on the backburner.

if you don't mod oblivion to the teeth you should be fine, I ran it at 1280x1024 on an old athelon 64 rig with very little ram and a cheap 128mb radeon 300x.

texture modded right to death and on high resolutions it can still give most systems some trouble.

either way if you're using integrated graphics, i'd probably say no.
but i guess a cheap old video card like the 300x is like 40$ and should do fine on a 17".
i havent decided on which one yet, but i am going to spend about $140 for the graphic card that i will eventually buy
__________________

tkim113 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
hijack log......? mattew HijackThis Logs (finished) 39 06-07-2008 11:24 AM
Crysis Very High in DX9 <[MaTT]> PC Gaming 20 12-20-2007 07:33 AM
Running Crysis on Very High in XP/DX9 Waphlez PC Gaming 1 11-02-2007 11:48 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.