newegg vista coupons?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2006, 01:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default newegg vista coupons??

Does anybody know how much these coupons are for?
__________________

Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 01:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

what coupons?
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 04:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default

right now from what I know is they are only coming with new system that you buy, you can't get them as a "coupon only"
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default

on their website, it says you get a coupon with the purchase of xp pro retail or home oem...there may be others, but im not sure. so i was wondering if anyone knew how much they were for since im building a computer soon and it would be nice to get a price break for vista just for buying xp (which was already gonna happen)
Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 11:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

http://promotions.newegg.com/microso...TechGuarn.html

Buy XP Pro today, get Vista for free. Or something like that.

Or you can get Linux for free, and be Vista-free.
The General is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 12:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default

I'm gonna wait at least a year on Vista

there's bound to be a ton of problems with security and drivers.

I'm running it on my other computer and I dont think a wireless adapter exists that has drivers which will work on the 64-bit version.

And I'm hoping piracy will prevail.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 05:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 299
Default

linux would be nice, but u need windows to play most games
Millenniumtiger is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 05:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

they have a patch for certain GUI based linuxes called XGL i think.

it is really pretty like vista and has the whole cube feature where you can switch screens. its free but idk bout gaming on it
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 06:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fade2black2004
they have a patch for certain GUI based linuxes called XGL i think.

it is really pretty like vista and has the whole cube feature where you can switch screens. its free but idk bout gaming on it
XGL is an X server built on OpenGL, it renders windows and things, it has nothing to do with games. It's not a patch for games, you must have XGL and Cedega confused. Cedega will run most Windows-based games on Linux, but it has nothing to do with XGL.

There are games that have native Linux versions, including:

Quake 1, 2, 3 and 4, Doom 3, Return to Castle Wolfenstein, Wolf:ET, all of the Unreal series, including the upcoming UT2k7. ET:QW will also have a native Linux version.

Remember -> You don't need Windows to run games, the game developers write games for Windows. If they kept making games for Linux, Linux may become the next gaming platform, and people will be saying "you need Linux to play games" ... It's all up to the developers, unfortunately. At least we have ID Software and Epic on our side.
The General is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 06:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

no i thinking of XGL we just put it on one of the computers in my computer enginering class. which required us to use linux scosie (sp?)
but it also works on obuntu (sp? again)

and alot of games wont work on linux right now. unless you run some type of emulator which i hear really slows down yorur computer

we also figured out that all newer Nvidia cards have this feature built in it already you just have to figure out how to enable it
__________________

__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.