New Processor for High End Machine/Home Theatre System - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2006, 10:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default New Processor for High End Machine/Home Theatre System

Long story short, I fried my Skt. 478 CPU and need a new one. I dont have the money to go out and buy a new board and a new GFX card, so please spare me, and stay with me. I need a P4 Skt. 478 of high end results. I've been out of the computer loop for some time so am not up to date on the new cores that Intel has been releasing (Dothan, Yonah, and the Conroe). I'm willing to spend some money, but not alot, so no extreme edition chips for me. I plan on OC'ing it a wee bit, but not too much. Suggestions?
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 11:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116171 is a good cpu. I think the E after the name might mean you could change the multiplyer. Someone once told me I think some leters after the name means unlockable multiplyer. Either way decent cpu.
__________________

__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 01:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 67
Send a message via AIM to zdude255
Default

Intel just announced major price cuts on P4s. Somewhere around 60% IIRC. So you might wanna wait a little before buying.

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?p...d=a9bSLIkNBj4M
zdude255 is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 02:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819111179
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 04:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819111179
You need a 945+ chipset for that.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Pepsiboy700
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116171 is a good cpu. I think the E after the name might mean you could change the multiplyer. Someone once told me I think some leters after the name means unlockable multiplyer. Either way decent cpu.
Yeah, the multiplier is not unlocked. That's the EE, or Extreme Edition. The E in this model indicates it is Revision E of the Pentium 4 3.0Ghz. This one with 1MB of L2 Cache and a Prescott Core.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 05:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
You need a 945+ chipset for that.
i believe you also need a socket 479 motherboard for core duos so thats probably out of the question.
__________________
My \"tite\" sysytem:Compaq SR1020NX
Celeron 2.8GHz
Cheap generic mobo(MSI)
PNY Geforce fx5500 128 MB pci
512 MB pc2700 ddr ram
compaq case with generic 250 watt psu
http://www.userbars.com/galerie/imag...ron Maiden.jpg
wasd is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 05:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wasd
i believe you also need a socket 479 motherboard for core duos so thats probably out of the question.
Thats a Skt. 478. But somebody mentioned the price cuts, so I'm totally going to wait for those to take affect, I'm all about the cheapness here. I will heed to that and buy then. But I still have to decide on which chip to buy.
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.