new gaming computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2005, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34
Default new gaming computer

Hi.. I want to get a new computer, and I want to make sure it will be good for gaming and it will be upgradable.
I don't know a ton about computers, but I know a decent amount. I don't really want to build a computer by myself.. but I definately don't want to get a Dell or anything. I looked into some barebones.. and I would like to find one that will require the least amount of building on my part. I'm hoping I won't have install hard drives and processors and stuff. Extra RAM and vid cards I can deal with.

Anyway I found the pinned topic very helpful, but I was hoping some of you could help me out or give me advice. Here's what I've been looking into, so you can get an idea of what I want.

- 939 Socket..
- AMD Athlon 64 X2-3800+ Dual Core Processor.. (maybe the 3500+ cuz its cheaper.. except is that Dual Core?)
- 2 512 ram sticks
- Chipset: I don't know much about this.. maybe the nvidia nforce4. Is the NVIDIA nForce3 250 GB good?
- 80GB+ hard drive
- Don't really need a monitor, mouse, or keyboard
- Not sure about Power Supply or cooling system.. Just want it to work.
- PCI-express is a MUST. But I'll probably go with an nvidia 6600 or something.. not gonna spend 300 dollars on a card.. but as long as its pci-e it should be ok

Here are some things I've found.. although each seems to be lacking in some area:

-that one has low power supply.. I dunno what that means though.. maybe that's okay? I also don't know if the Nvidia nforce 3 250 gb is good... other than that the system seems pretty good.{BE9BFB54-C5C5-44B0EVEREST-B465-876C28C093F6}&Cc=AMDGAMBB&iTpStatus=0&Tp=&Bc=

Thanks in advance for any help.. As complete a system as possible is best for me I mainly play COD.. counter strike.. want to start playing aoe3. I don't play hundreds of games.. like 1-4.. So I don't know.. I probably don't need to spend a crap load of money.. but I definately want to be able to upgrade it..

dive is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 05:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness

Welcome to TF!

Building a computer isnt really that hard. Im currently building my first one and i think its quite fun. Youd save some money by building it yourself and then using that saved money to upgrade some things later down the road.

The 3500+ is not a dual core processor. If you want to play games on highest, look into buying 2gb of RAM. Look into DFIs for motherboards, antecs or oczs for power supplies, seagates or western digital for hard drives and whatever case floats your boat. Hope this helps abit.

thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34

That's what people tell me.. but I would kind of prefer to just go to MonarchComputer or something.. and customize one.. except I'm not really sure if I need the DualCore and what type of RAM I need and stuff.. When I try to customize something there I find a list of about 10 different 1GB ram setups.. I dunno which to choose.. and the Dual Core is what costs the most.. that adds about 300 dollars.
dive is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 08:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Ridlyn's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920

ok heres just about everything you need





Video Card




Total: $1044.47 No S&H, exlcuding rebates.
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 10:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34

Well here's what I'm thinking.. I went to MonarchComputer because I don't really want to build the computer by myself.

Here's the link to the customization.. if you wanna check it out and give me some suggestions.

In addition to this I'll need to buy a PCI-e card and a HD from Why do I need a huge HD? I guess I'll go with 120GB or 160GB.. I don't want to go over $100.

Do you have any suggestions or changes to the configuration?
dive is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 10:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 34

Hmm sorry.. the mobo in that screenshot is wrong.
It would either be:

Which of those 3 is best value? (Saving money is good)
dive is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 03:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943

don't get either of the asus i got 1 and will regret it till i can replace it

people here do seem to be very happy with the msi k8n neo-f though

AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.