Need some help/advice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Old 06-24-2006, 11:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Default Need some help/advice

Hey all,

This is my very first try at building a comp. Getting a bit confusing and hard to make up my mind. I can't decide if I want to go Intel or AMD. Just for background, I am an average gamer I'd say. I play WoW, EQ, Half Life, etc. I picked out a few peices and I'd really appreciate it if you guys could give me some advice.

ASUS A8N-SLI Socket 939
Athlon 64 X2 3800+

ECS C19-A SLI (1.0A) Socket T (LGA 775)
Intel Pentium D 930 Presler 800MHz

The rest of the stuff I have is:
Video Card
Hard Drive
Network Card
DVD Drive

On one hand, the Intel is the cheaper route by 1-2 hundred bucks. But I am worried that if I do go with intel it will be out of date with the new chips they are releasing next month. Also worried about the compatability. There weren't many SLI mobos for the intel p. d. 930 so maybe if you recommend the intel point me in the direction of a new MB that is in the same price range (maybe a little bit more).

What I really want to know is A) which processor/mobo should I go with? B) Will it be compatible with all the other peices I picked? C) Are all these items good for what I will need them for?

Also, I was wondering once I actually ordered all the peices if there was a good walkthrough someone could link me to for putting it all together and getting up and running? Anything besides the manuals that come with the peices that is.

I'll keep checking in so feel free to ask me about anything.

Old 06-25-2006, 12:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie

NM on the guide question, just saw the awesome one in this forum!

Old 06-25-2006, 09:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie