Need a solid PCI-E mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2005, 03:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Need a solid PCI-E mobo

I'm helping a friend build a new computer, and we have everything figured out except for the motherboard. he's not going to do any OCing or SLI so SLI mobo's are out of the question. for some-odd reason he doesn't want a motherboard from MSI or ASUS, so i figure a DFI lanparty mobo would be great, except than most DFI's are SLI mobo's. What is a solid, Socket 939, single PCI-E motherboard?

so far, he's going to go for an Athlon64 3500 or 3700 GeForce 7800GT, and 2GB of dual channel RAM. he's going to use the other parts in his computer for the rest of the build.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 04:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Need a solid PCI-E mobo
Sorry, can't help. All my info is on gelatine boards.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 04:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

Gigabyte K8NXP-9 nForce4 Ultra
Xiahou is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

DFI Lanparty nForce4 Ultra-D. Not an SLI mobo. The Abit Fatal1ty might be worth a look 2
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 05:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

thanks a million!
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 05:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

whoops, i dont' think that you saw that SLI motherboards are out fo the question. both the gigabyte mobo and DFI ones are SLI. i need one with ONE PCI-E slot, NOT 2.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 05:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

The Ultra-D isn't a SLI board, but does have 2 x16 slots.

Try this.

Also I saw today on Ben's Bargains (about 2/3 down the page) that when you buy a 7800 gt from Newegg they will through in an eVGA mobo for free. Something worth looking at.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 06:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

the gigabyte 1 i said is not sli.


http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...ocket_939.html

2nd 1 down.
Xiahou is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 09:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

whoops. eVGA makes motherboards? well, my buddy is getting a 7800GT or GTX bundles with his 3700.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 08-18-2005, 11:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Yeah, They have a few mobos out.
I was thinking about buying it but Im not sure if it will be a good one or not.
Although I love EvGa.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188003
__________________

Execute is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.