Need help, problem AFTER getting a new case. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2007, 05:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Need help, problem AFTER getting a new case.

Right i just finished putting my pc into a new case, it was the first time i done this and i done it all on my own

Now apart from a few head scratchers about why things wouldnt work at first i got there in the end and everything works(Antec nine hundred), all the fans work, usb, HDD light on the front panel, boots up into windows and all seems fine, but upon boot up just before the windows screen i get a message saying "system fan failure, please service pc to avoid further damage, or press F2 to proceed" or words to that effect, so i hit F2 and it boots into windows fine, my temps are as i expected(8-10 oc lower than my old case) so nothing wrong there and all the fans are working as i said.

The only difference i can think of between how my system is setup now to how it was before is that i had 1 case fan in my old case and 1 cpu fan that was connected direct to the motherboard, and now i only have one fan connected(cpu fan) and the other that ISNT connected anymore, so do you think thats why im getting this error because the pc is detecting that the case fan isnt there?

I cant think of any other reason for getting that error message? as i said all 4 of my case fans including the old cpu fan is working prefectly.

If my problem is the disconnected case fan from the mobo is there anyway i can stop the pc from giving me this error message?

Sorry for the essay i just want to make it clear so i dont get people asking questions, then hopefully i can get an answer quicker
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 05:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Come on brainy bunch let me pick your brains!
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

did you make sure you had the heatsink fan plugged into the right part of your mobo?

i really dont know why you would have this problem, so thats just a geuss
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 01-23-2007, 11:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Jumping_Bean514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 752
Send a message via AIM to Jumping_Bean514
Default

Did you put a pre-built like dell or HP into a custom case? You might get this error if you did.
Jumping_Bean514 is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 01:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

fade im pretty sure i plugged the heatsink fan into the right place but ill check later today, but if it was in the wrong place the fan wouldnt be working now would it?

Jumping bean, the pc was pre built by Compaq
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 01:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jonny_uk
the pc was pre built by Compaq
then it's a pretty good guess that the bios detects that you no longer have a fan hooked up, and since the bios is more than likely locked, you won't be able to do anythign about it... check out the bios and see if you can disable the fan warnings
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 11:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Thanks guys but as above Nukem was right, and i couldnt see anything to do with fans in the bios so i had a 8cm blue LED fan in my cuboard so i just attached that to the side window(free space there) and plugged it into the mobo and the message has gone now

Thanks agian
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.