need help for high performance - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2007, 01:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default need help for high performance

hey guys, i willl be building a comp in a few months and i need to get the best performance for games as possible(im only playing games on it). But i would also like it to be as cheap as possible.

the specs that i want are:

4 gb ram (2x2gb
8800gt 512mb

i need help with everything else but the case.

By the way, i live in canada, iv already looked at tiger direct and there prices suck.

thanks for any help that you give me
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 02:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: need help for high performance

if i may ask, whats wrong with the comp in your sig? thats high performance already....
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 02:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: need help for high performance

tthats the one that im planning on getting right now, but im asking if anyone know component that have the same performence for less
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 08:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: need help for high performance

Hmm im looking at your sig a few changes i recommend dump the AMD X2 go for a Q6600 g0 version drop 1 of the harddrives you want drop the 4gb of G.Skill i heard those 2gb sticks suck not really good go for some Crucial Ballistix or corsair XMS2 newegg.com have some pretty good prices.The Q6600 g0 you will have to get somewhere else bacause newegg gives you a random one it could be g0 or b3 i got the g0 though got lucky.
__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 08:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: need help for high performance

Oh yea for a motherboard if you arent going SLI then get the Gigabyte p35-DS3L those are pretty popular here if you want to go sli i would get the EVGA 680i.
__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 08:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: need help for high performance

you could drop 2GB of RAM. Get some Crucial Ballsitix. 4GB isn't really necessary for gaming.
Andyf is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 08:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: need help for high performance

yeah i was thinbking of going with Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 3.0GHZ 1333FSB 4MB Retail - DirectCanada

Oh and those hard drives i already have, like i have them from my old system, one is external. I might be going sli so i need 2 pci-e and 2 pci
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 08:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: need help for high performance

Yeah, you need an Nvidia chipset mobo for SLI, not just 2x PCIe, maybe an EVGA NF680i mobo for intel CPU. have no idea about AMD mobos. If its not time urgent, you could wait for the 780i chipset, and see how they turn out.
Andyf is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 09:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: need help for high performance

depends if you want to spend more. the only conroe chip that is close to the same price as a 6400 is an e6300. no doubt a good chip, but you will have to overclock it pretty heavily to match the performance of the 6400.
you could go allendale, meh...but the same would apply.
q6600 is almost 100 dollars more, but it is a quad core. if you are planning to spend that much on a 6850, i suggest saving 10 bucks and getting a q6600. 6850 is a rockin chip, just kinda expensive when many of the conroe ships will clock that high for less money.
i wouldnt get a 680i. certainly is looking like they are NOT going to support yorkfield quads (new generation from intel due Q1 next year)...they will likely support wolfdale (dual core version of yorkfield).
either a p35 or one of the new chipsets would be advisable for a new build.
AMD mobo would be the new MSI K9A2 platinum (if you can find it) which is an am2+ mobo and will support the AMD quad cores. yes, it will also work with an am2 cpu. i would suggest the x2 5000 black edition, which has an unlocked multiplier and will overclock (probably) to the speed of a 6400...with less heat than a 6400 at stock. i dont know if you can find one in canada, probably so. at newegg it is 130 dollars, 60 cheaper than the 6400.
if you want to not shell out the dough for an am2+ mobo, anything with a 590SLI chipset is great.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-12-2007, 09:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: need help for high performance

i'll look around, thanks
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dialup Speed, Tweaking slow performance SpenceQ Overclocking and Modding 8 12-01-2007 03:12 PM
NVIDIA GeForce 6200 Low Video Performance ??? Katmandu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-23-2007 11:11 PM
Half Life 2: Episode 2 Quick Performance Preview Osiris PC Gaming 4 10-10-2007 04:13 PM
New AMD/ATI card kicks butt zmatt New Systems | Building and Buying 76 05-22-2007 05:39 PM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.