My 8800GTS to hot !?!?! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2007, 10:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My 8800GTS to hot !?!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by K M A N View Post
So you don't reccomend overclocking my 8800GTS like everyone is telling me ?

Im gona try overclock my new CPU aswell, its on stock cooler. How hot should i let it get before a aftermarket one is required ? my CPU is in sig.
60 degrees on load for your CPU...

for the GPU no, you can overclock it, just don't go above like near 90's and u should be fine
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 12:36 PM   #12 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: My 8800GTS to hot !?!?!

CPU-Z tell me my CPu temps ? i ran CoD4 for about 40 mins at 3.4Ghz and quickly reset pc go into bios and it said 49C ... but i dont no how quickly it would go down you see.

Dam it doesnt, and for some reason Everest isnt showing it, whats Aux by the way, it says Aux is 42C.

CPU-Z is dodgey, everest says its continuously 3.6Ghz which is what is should be, CPU-Z is 90 percent of the time on 2.4Ghz and then switches to 3.6 Ghz and back, anyway i found a program that says CPU is 51C at Idle, if i put the stock fan at continous 60 or 70 percent will it damage it ?


This program is good, tells me the volatges comeing through rails, HDD CPU GPU AUX temperatures, CPU clockspeed, GPU CPU HDD and Memory usage. its called SensorsView Pro.


Im confused now, bios tells me CPU is 40C, when i get into desktop SensorsView tells me its 51c, but after looking in settings if i choose CPu sensor 2 its 39C, so which do i believe and which one should i be watching ?
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 01:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: My 8800GTS to hot !?!?!

The reason CPU-Z is reporting constant changes is the SpeedStep technology that lowers the multiplier when the CPU is not loaded in order to save energy.

You should have kept that AF7 Pro. (but im not complaning as it saved me £15 )

BTW Is there much of a difference between the X1950PRO and the 8800GTS gaming wise?
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 01:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: My 8800GTS to hot !?!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
The reason CPU-Z is reporting constant changes is the SpeedStep technology that lowers the multiplier when the CPU is not loaded in order to save energy.

You should have kept that AF7 Pro. (but im not complaning as it saved me 15 )

BTW Is there much of a difference between the X1950PRO and the 8800GTS gaming wise?
yep...

but if you load your CPU and then run CPU-Z then ya.. it'll say normal speeds
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Zotac 8800GTS AMP! ?? Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-14-2007 10:43 PM
Fatal1ty XFX 8800GTS 320MB HELPMEPLZ New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-27-2007 11:00 AM
Vista, Lost Planet, and 8800GTS issue. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-30-2007 05:15 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.