Which Motherboard - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2007, 05:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Which Motherboard

ASUS P5K3 and Gigabyte P35C-DS3R is the only ones I've seen.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Re: Which Motherboard

Will they accept DDR2 memory now? It appears that the Gigabyte does and the Asus does not. The Gigabyte only supports 4mb of Ram for DDR3 and the Asus supports 8mb.
__________________

MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Which Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDaddyGator View Post
Will they accept DDR2 memory now?

Well the P35C-DS3R, handles both DDR2 and DDR3. The P5K3, only handles DDR3.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Which Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDaddyGator View Post
Will they accept DDR2 memory now?
Can you rephrase that? I think the answer is yes but I'm not too sure of your question.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Re: Which Motherboard

B1gapl understood the question and answered it. I also did some more research and figured it out. I was hoping there might be a good board that would allow you to switch to DDR3 memory in the future when it becomes more reasonably priced. Only the Gigabyte will allow you to use DDR2 now and DDR3 in the future.

Are there other motherboards that might be modified in the future to allow the use of DDR3 or is that a stupid question?
MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Which Motherboard

Don't buy a DDR3 board now, I'd think b1gapl would agree with me.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Which Motherboard

I would agree. DDR3 as of now, isn't that much faster than DDR2. By the time DDR3 becomes mainstream, there will be better motherboards out there, to handle them. And you'd be wanting to upgrade.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 09:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Which Motherboard

^ and glitchy if they support ddr2 and 3 at the same time
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 09:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Which Motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacDaddyGator View Post
Which motherboards support DDR3 memory now?
Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
ASUS P5K3 and Gigabyte P35C-DS3R is the only ones I've seen.
ASUS Blitz extreme also supports DDR3.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 12:07 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Re: Which Motherboard

I am convinced that it is not wise to buy a DDR3 motherboard right now. I am still struggling with my motherboard purchase. I want firewire, and I am not sure that I will ever overclock.
__________________

MacDaddyGator is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something is Faling, motherboard, CPU or HDD? HELP!! ChuckHCash Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-15-2007 05:52 PM
Motherboard Questions & Help Me Find a Mobo Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 37 07-13-2007 01:24 AM
Upgrading motherboard, processor and RAM Uberg New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-03-2007 07:03 PM
it wasnt the motherboard!!!!! pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-03-2007 01:02 AM
Which motherboard? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-02-2007 11:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.