Mixing Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2008, 08:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Deadpixel's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Mixing Ram

So I currently have 2GB of Kingston (1GBx2) of 667 memory. I am looking at ordering some Corsair 2GB (1GBx2) of 800 clocked memory. the motherboard I have is a P5K-SE. Will this be ok? And I'm not looking at overclocking.

This was the ram I was looking at getting

Amazon.com: Corsair XMS2 2X1GB Kit PC2-6400 800MHz DDR2 (TWIN2X2048-6400): Electronics

The reason for getting it there, was because I have a 30 dollar credit. If that ram will not work, will this ram work?
Amazon.com: Kingston ValueRam 2GB 667MHz DDR2 Non-ECC CL5 DIMM (Kit of 2) Retail Packaging: Electronics

A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 03:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Mixing Ram

Both are fine.. just make sure both have around the same voltage, or you put them in separate dual-channel slots

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 04:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
alexsabree's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States, Arkansas
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Mixing Ram

Yeah, The only problems you will probably run into is not being able to overclock very much, having settings to satisfy both types of ram, and the speed of the ram will favor towards the slower clock.

I've done it before and I've not run into any problems.
Enjoy 4gb!! :laughing:
alexsabree is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 07:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
baron5's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Mixing Ram

thats wat i had to do with the build i recently sold, like alex said, finding the equilibrium of both sets is the main part, in mu case the ram was fairly different, patriot 2.3v opposed to gskill 1.8/9. so i downclocked the patriot a bit and kept my gskill o/c at a higher voltage.
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito

baron5 is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 12:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
900RR's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 199
Default Re: Mixing Ram

yeah, the 800 clocked ram will just default and run at 667 with the others. the 667 is 1.8v and the 800 is 1.9v and your mobo is 1.8v by default so both should run together with no tweaking, BUT... 2gb is plenty, and if I were you I would just ditch the kingstons completely, and run the XMS2's at 800.
Build Done
Cooler Master Stacker 830 Evolution
Crucial Ballistix Tracer 4 x 1GB
Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200.11
Asus 20x SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Logitech G15 keyboard
Logitech G5 Mouse
Corsair 750TX PSU
Thermalright Ultima-90
Vista Home Premium 64
900RR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 05:35 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 08:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 04:08 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 11:59 AM
Mixing Ram Question BC-Reefer Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 02-27-2008 07:01 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.