Memory Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2006, 04:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Default Memory Upgrade

I want to buy a 1 gig upgrade of DRR RAM for my desktop.

As far as I can tell from opening up the computer and looking at the currently installed RAM chip and using Crucial scan my system thingy I have:

PC2700 DRR RAM 333MHz 184 Pin

I know my motherboard can support up to 2 gig of RAM so I am fine there. (Currently I have 256MB )

So is this guaranteed to be compatible? As far as I can tell it is but I want to be sure.

Thanks for any help given.
__________________

matthewgilchris is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 06:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

i wouldn't buy it not knowing the brand.
i would look for patriot (i upgraded my mom's dell with it and it posted right up), or another recognized name.
that stuff kinda looks like the dell modules i pulled out of my moms dimension 3000.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.