Knows nothing needs alotta help. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2012, 01:53 AM   #11 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Knows nothing needs alotta help.

gtx 670 for sure.
90% of the performance of a gtx 680 for 25% less. (not an AMD guy)

I don't know which tutorial said the power supply doesn't matter much, they are wrong. You are 15, I am sure you know how important a balanced diet is. a crap power supply feeds your PC crap power.

you should figure out your budget.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 05-15-2012, 09:55 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: Knows nothing needs alotta help.

Really If I can run WoW on ultra settings il be fine its my goal for my first build but like I said I have no idea what you guys are saying and I feel really dumb for not understanding.Soooo can someone explain to me in simple words what I need.
__________________

Sean1696 is offline  
Old 05-15-2012, 12:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Knows nothing needs alotta help.

I already told you in my first post that all you need to do is upgrade your PSU and video card for your Dell and you will be fine.

As was said many times before, we need a budget to do this.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-15-2012, 02:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Re: Knows nothing needs alotta help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
620w isn't enough for a 690. 550w is enough for a 680 though.
Honestly, no point in buying a 580 when for the same money you can have a 670.
Yup, get the 670 for the same price as the 580 for much better performance = winning.

And like others have said, we need your budget, what's the max you can spend on this build?

Quote:
I already told you in my first post that all you need to do is upgrade your PSU and video card for your Dell and you will be fine.
PP, excuse me if I'm wrong, but I looked up the Dell Inspiron 531 Specs, it has a AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ CPU, wouldn't that create a huge bottle neck with a high end card like the GTX 670? (Or any card in NVIDIA's 600 series).
__________________
Gaming PC Build:

NZXT Phantom | Intel i5-3570k 3.4Ghz | Asus P8Z77-V | CoolerMaster V6 GT | Ripjaws
8GB 1600mhz | EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB | Corsair HX750 Watt |SB 1.5TBHDD
7200 RPM+WD 500GB 7200RPM | OCZ Vetex 3 120GB SSD | Lite-On 24x Reader/Writer/Burner Drive |
Razer Naga MMO Gaming Mouse | Razer Lycosa Gaming Mouse | Logitech G930 Gaming Headset
iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 05-15-2012, 07:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: Knows nothing needs alotta help.

I don't really have a budget Im just gonna basically save up money get a part save up money get a part ect ect. And the whole thing is with upgrading my psu is that idk if that would work. Like my thing say I KNOW NOTHING and I do wann build this new comp from the ground up as my summer project...Honestly if someone could just like give me a list of parts tht will be good for gaming that would be good for a first timer and give me what i want that would be cool.


Thanks to anyone who reads and has the patience for my newbyness
Sean1696 is offline  
Old 05-15-2012, 10:44 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Knows nothing needs alotta help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceyc0ld View Post
Yup, get the 670 for the same price as the 580 for much better performance = winning.

And like others have said, we need your budget, what's the max you can spend on this build?



PP, excuse me if I'm wrong, but I looked up the Dell Inspiron 531 Specs, it has a AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ CPU, wouldn't that create a huge bottle neck with a high end card like the GTX 670? (Or any card in NVIDIA's 600 series).
He wants a build to play WoW on high. Slap a 560 in there and it'll be fine. My friend used to game on my server playing BF3 on medium with a 6000+ and 465.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean1696 View Post
I don't really have a budget Im just gonna basically save up money get a part save up money get a part ect ect. And the whole thing is with upgrading my psu is that idk if that would work. Like my thing say I KNOW NOTHING and I do wann build this new comp from the ground up as my summer project...Honestly if someone could just like give me a list of parts tht will be good for gaming that would be good for a first timer and give me what i want that would be cool.


Thanks to anyone who reads and has the patience for my newbyness
Small steps. You need to learn with the computer you currently have to make it do what you want FIRST, before possible screwing up a new build if you really aren't that confident.

All you need to do is simply replace 2 parts in your machine to get what you want and you can leave the summer project for that, a summer project when you have more time to do full research on the project.

I recommend buying this PSU.
Newegg.com - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC High Performance Power Supply

And this GPU.
Newegg.com - MSI N560GTX-Ti-M2D1GD5/OC GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Replacing the PSU is very easy. You simply unplug all the power cables inside the computer, take out the box, put the new one in, plug everything back in.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-15-2012, 11:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: Knows nothing needs alotta help.

I have 1.87 gigs of memory should I buy some more RAM cuz i think video cards need a certain amount of memory. and thank you for that last post it was helpful.
Sean1696 is offline  
Old 05-16-2012, 05:15 AM   #18 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Knows nothing needs alotta help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean1696 View Post
I have 1.87 gigs of memory should I buy some more RAM cuz i think video cards need a certain amount of memory. and thank you for that last post it was helpful.
you thought wrong.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 05-16-2012, 09:37 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 7
Default Re: Knows nothing needs alotta help.

Mmk well then il get started on getting that PSU and GPU thanks for the feed back guys
Sean1696 is offline  
Old 05-16-2012, 10:19 AM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: Knows nothing needs alotta help.

Would have been more helpful for his post to elaborate. No, you don't need more RAM for the video card, BUT you could use 4GB of RAM. Problem there, is DDR2 isn't cheap anymore and you would need to buy a 64bit OS. Something else you can do later to learn how to install Windows from scratch.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.