Kingston RAM - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2008, 09:46 PM   #31 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Kingston RAM

eh i'm just moving up from ddr so ddr2 will be a whole new lifestyle for me
__________________

wafflehammer is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 10:20 PM   #32 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Kingston RAM

I'm presently running 2gb of DDR2 800 memory on the present build. Since the last 939 build ran DDR400 memory there and was only a quick upgrade from the build before that I simply passed it along to a family member.

That one and the one before that both saw 2.2ghz cpus while this one sees a 3ghz model dual core model. That's a real change from the slower single core models on the other cases!
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 12:34 AM   #33 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Kingston RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
i would not get kingston, they are not very good quality IMO.

Get crucial, ocz, or g.skill....those are the top three brands.
Kingston are a good brand, i have used them many times and find them to be very reliable. however i would not consider them for performance memory, if i wanted to achieve good memory overclocks i would go for a g.skill, geil, OCZ or crucial kit. i would never recommend high end memory for a standard desktop build.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 01:31 AM   #34 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Kingston RAM

Surprisingly I hear others stating that the Hyper X is great for ocing. I heard rather a dark view on Geil where the advice heard is if you can get it to work run it if not...?

The most common thing heard however is those looking for the lowest timings on performance memory used for gaming builds. Both Corsair and Kingston alike manage to see good reviews on their value memory at times while I went for the Hyper X for this build and will take a look at OCZ for the next as one thought.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
My Comp Won't Read My RAM - Help Please SabakuNoTaira Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-17-2008 12:59 PM
RAM Upgrade Problem millsy5 System Upgrades 7 03-14-2008 05:56 AM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.