It's Alive! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2007, 03:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Talking It's Alive!

Thanks to the quick help of a few forum members here, my new system is up and running! I'm still configuring bios, but no system beeps and everything seems to be going fine. All the led parts are lit up, the fans are going, bios recognizes the cpu and ram...so far so good!

Here are the specs. I might add pics later if I can.

Case: Antec 900
Mobo: Asus P5W Deluxe
PSU: Seasonic 550w Energy+
CPU: Intel e6600
Ram: 2gb Patriot Extreme DDR2-800
HD: 150gb WD Raptor, 320gb Seagate Barricuda
DVD: Pioneer DVR-112D, LG CD/DVD-Rom
Cooler: stock heatsink for now, the one I want is out of stock..

This is my first build so I'm happy as **** right now
__________________

Jrod is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 05:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: It's Alive!

Congrats!
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 06:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default Re: It's Alive!

Thanks.

Having some troubles now though Was going to upgrade BIOS first but it won't run the .rom file off my usb stick for some reason, even though the manual says it should. So, I was going to install the OS and then update the BIOS through Windows. Started the installation, but when I select the hd I want to install Vista to it says "Windows is unable to find a system volume that meets its criteria."

Anybody know how I can fix this?!
Jrod is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to undergrounddlz
Default Re: It's Alive!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrod View Post
Thanks.

Having some troubles now though Was going to upgrade BIOS first but it won't run the .rom file off my usb stick for some reason, even though the manual says it should. So, I was going to install the OS and then update the BIOS through Windows. Started the installation, but when I select the hd I want to install Vista to it says "Windows is unable to find a system volume that meets its criteria."

Anybody know how I can fix this?!
It seems as if the hard drive you want to install vista on isent Vista compatible. Thats the only thing I can possible think of. Maybe you could try installing Windows XP?
undergrounddlz is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 08:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default Re: It's Alive!

Both are incompatible? What are the chances of that. The only thing I can think of is they're both Sata hd's...

Anybody know of the P5W having problems with Sata and how to fix it?
Jrod is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.