Intel Pentium 830(D) or 630? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2005, 11:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 157
Default Intel Pentium 830(D) or 630?

Is the new dual core 830 much better than than the HT 630? Just wondering if I should go the extra few bucks to get the D. Are the Pentium D lines, pentium 4's, or are they completely different? Sorry, I just don't know the full details behind this. Any help would be great.
Chris
__________________

__________________
The Rig: Specs
e8500 @ 4.1Ghz, 4Gb OCZ Reapers @ 1152Mhz, Gainward HD 4850 GPU, Asus P5Q-PRO, Corsair 60gb Force Series SSD, Seagate 7200.11 320Gb, Corsair 620W Modular PSU, Vista Home Premium 64
zildjianchris is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 12:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Completely different due to the Pentium-Ds having 2 cores in one.

The Pentium-Ds are better for multitasking, thats all. You simply have the power of two processors at hand, instead of one.

At the moment, there is NO REASON to go with the Pentium-Ds over the AMD Athlon 64 X2s. The X2s beat the Pentium-Ds in ALL tasks, including video editing and encoding.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 12:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 157
Default

It's just that the cheapest dual core amd i could find was like over $500. And I was planning on going a 3ghz, and the 3ghz in the Pentium D line is like $420. I dont really want to spend over $500 on a cpu.
__________________
The Rig: Specs
e8500 @ 4.1Ghz, 4Gb OCZ Reapers @ 1152Mhz, Gainward HD 4850 GPU, Asus P5Q-PRO, Corsair 60gb Force Series SSD, Seagate 7200.11 320Gb, Corsair 620W Modular PSU, Vista Home Premium 64
zildjianchris is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 12:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ (2 x 2.0Ghz processors).

That will outperform a 3.2 Ghz Dual Core Intel CPU :classic:
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 03:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to superbeetle173
Default

Skip the Intel, Go with the AMD. If your buying for gaming, don't waste your money on the Dual core anything! (AMD or Intel)Unless you plan on using quickbooks at the same time you are playing BF2! Dual core will not improve single program use.
superbeetle173 is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 03:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 157
Default

I dont know why, but i've always had something against amd. Dont yell at me, haha, I dont know why though. I wouldn't be always be playing games.
__________________
The Rig: Specs
e8500 @ 4.1Ghz, 4Gb OCZ Reapers @ 1152Mhz, Gainward HD 4850 GPU, Asus P5Q-PRO, Corsair 60gb Force Series SSD, Seagate 7200.11 320Gb, Corsair 620W Modular PSU, Vista Home Premium 64
zildjianchris is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 05:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 31
Default

get the duel core - you need to go with new technology. soon software will be created to utilize both cores and those cpu's will have better performance than the old HT's. and yes AMD would be better.
pgp_nc is offline  
Old 10-10-2005, 05:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

AMD dual cores beat Intels "so called" dual core.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

lol yea the intel duelcores rae sota stuffed this might be wrong but the info i read was that intel rushed the development stage and got their duelcores out quick but that meant that they are passing the info from 1 core through the other.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.