I'm looking into upgrading my 2004 crapmobile - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2007, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69
Default I'm looking into upgrading my 2004 crapmobile

Right now I have an AMD Athlon XP 3200+, 512mb of RAM, 160gb hard drive, and a dvd burner and cd drive.

I want to upgrade to a machine that can handle Photoshop 7.0, Firefox with many tabs open, and AIM at one time without a hiccup. And when I shut down these programs I want to be able to handle 2004-2006 games(Far Cry, Oblivion, HL2, Steam MP games).

I want to salvage the hard drive, dvd burner, cd drive, and the 512 stick from my current computer. I will probably sell the Athlon XP 3200+ on ebay seeing as they are going for $100-150 and that would easily take about half the chunk of my build. I'm trying to keep my budget at under $350.

Would you recommend getting a new PSU or could my rig actually handle the stock 350 because I'm trying to keep it as cheap as possible. Also is there a process that can wipe a hard drive clean? I still have my Windows XP disc, so I just pop that in and format the hard drive, then put that in my new PC? Also should I purchase fans from newegg to keep my PC cool? If so what do you recommend?

Would you recommend these products?

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane 1.9GHz Socket AM2 Processor
Rosewill R103A ATX Mid Tower Computer Case with 350W Power Supply
BIOSTAR NF4UAM2G Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 AMD Motherboard
Foxconn FV-N76TM2D2 GeForce 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 GPU
G.SKILL Value 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) (I would also throw in my 512mb just for the **** of it to have 1.5GB of RAM)

These can all be had at newegg for about $325
__________________

nylax4 is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: I'm looking into upgrading my 2004 crapmobile

Those parts look fine. I would recommend you get a new PSU, because PSUs included with cases, can't be really trusted. Of course you should get fans to keep the computer cool. Try to find a fan with low db and high cfm.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69
Default Re: I'm looking into upgrading my 2004 crapmobile

What is the best value PSU?
nylax4 is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 06:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: I'm looking into upgrading my 2004 crapmobile

Newegg.com - XClio 450BL ATX 450W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, CUL, TUV, CB - Retail
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 07:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69
Default Re: I'm looking into upgrading my 2004 crapmobile

I have a 32" Westinghouse LCD HDTV on the other side of the room as the computer. and my current computer is on a 17" Acer which is awesome but since the video card has VGA and DVI can I have a DVI to HDMI cable running through the wall to my TV. Is there a way to have the computer show up on both screens at the same with these connections?
nylax4 is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 07:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: I'm looking into upgrading my 2004 crapmobile

I think you can but I'm not exactly sure on that.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 07:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: I'm looking into upgrading my 2004 crapmobile

i know with an nvidia card that once it detects the two monitors it asks you what you wanna do wether it be clone or span
just set it for clone and it will work
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 07:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: I'm looking into upgrading my 2004 crapmobile

you wont be able to use your ddr ram with am2. it has to have ddr2.
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
these are decent for 74.00
also, you will likely want to run dual channel, so make sure you get two sticks(link above is a set of two 512 sticks).
if you're gonna get an nf4 mobo, i suggest:
Newegg.com - ABIT KN9 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
only 'cos i own it, and it owns the 3600 brisbane that im testing out.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 07:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: I'm looking into upgrading my 2004 crapmobile

I don't think that 184pin ram is gonna fit that AM2 mobo, but there's some really good deals on newegg for 2gigs of ram for around $120
__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 07:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69
Default Re: I'm looking into upgrading my 2004 crapmobile

XClio 450BL ATX 450W Power Supply
WINTEC AMPO 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit

Add these to the original

nagasama, is that mobo really worth the extra $20 bills I'm on a tight budget
__________________

nylax4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM
upgrading to a bigger case yellowmustard Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-05-2007 11:49 PM
do i need to back up tablet specific drivers when upgrading from vista RC2 to vista rookie1010 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-05-2007 05:05 AM
Flight Simulator 2004 Won't Uninstall infantryman PC Gaming 0 04-02-2007 04:21 PM
Upgrading Computer. alex12345 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 03-28-2007 03:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.