Ide And Sata In Same Build? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2009, 01:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Ide And Sata In Same Build?

Doing my first do I use wire a SATA hdd and an IDE dvd drive? Do I need an adapter? Should I just get a sata drive? I will eventually get one, I'm just anxious to get it running.

newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Ide And Sata In Same Build?

You just plug them into different spots. You should have a different spot on the mobo for the connections and the power supply should have both or just use a adapter. I run sata hdd and ide dvdrw no problem. So unless theres some new boards without ide and you got one you should be fine.

"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Tenenbaum's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 359
Send a message via MSN to Tenenbaum
Default Re: Ide And Sata In Same Build?

First off, what is your motherboard?
You should have no problems connecting a IDE and SATA, I have this in my system at the moment, just make sure you have the SATA set as the main drive.
Also, make sure you have all the appropriate cables for this setup.
Tenenbaum is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 02:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334
Default Re: Ide And Sata In Same Build?

Also, if you use the sata as your primary drive, don't forget to put the IDE as slave. Most older IDE drive are pre-set to Cable Select in the jumper setting. with sata as primary and the IDE set to CS, you might have issue with compatability. (I know I did when I had done this set up) So as long as set to slave on the IDE you should be good.

Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 09:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Ide And Sata In Same Build?

i use an IDE as my main drive in my media rig with a 500gb SATA as storage. why, you ask? because i am too lazy to move my OS to the SATA.
works fine.
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 09:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
Nick's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Ide And Sata In Same Build?

Yep, running two IDE DVD/RWs and 2 SATA WD Caviars here.
Nick is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 11:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
saltynay's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Ide And Sata In Same Build?

I am running 3 seagates and 2 ide dvd writers aswell however I just got a ide adapter as I seem to have an influx of ide hdd's available.
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 04:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,799
Default Re: Ide And Sata In Same Build?

I just stopped using a couple of ~10GB Maxtor IDEs from 24/01/00 and 5/5/99. Much more reliable than seagates their age (or even half their age) but they both make an anoying high pitched whine. OP: yes you can mix SATA and IDE devices with no worries whatsoever as long as you take care of the normal stuff for the IDEs ie max one master and one slave on each channel.


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding IDE Hard Drive(s) to a SATA Hard Drive Rig digital_ninja2k System Upgrades 1 08-07-2008 02:33 PM
New Build SATA Drive Problem bendrichard Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-11-2008 10:46 AM
Migrating from IDE HDD to Sata HDD bendrichard System Upgrades 3 05-12-2008 04:48 PM
IDE hard drive to SATA connector? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-29-2007 08:08 AM
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 01:37 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.