i7 o/c - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2009, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default i7 o/c

I have an evga x58 / i7 920 at 4ghz with 2gb of 6gb ram installed at 7-7-7-24. When I try installing the other 4gb, it wont boot, it will just sit there and do nothing, wont even beep. I've tried all I can, followed others guides too. Any suggestions?

Yes, all sticks are good.

insane84722 is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 06:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
Peter.Cort's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: i7 o/c

Did you increase the voltage on the ram?

A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Slaymate's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: i7 o/c

what ram are you using and what speed. Here are my setting with the evga X58 running at 4GHz. Can you use this as a template and fill in your settings. It will help I think

Mother Board ( EVGA X58 X3 SLI )
Drivers (Intel Inf Utility )
Bios ( E758SZ27 )
CPU ( i7 920 )
CPU Cooler ( Thermalright True Copper )
Memory ( Corsair PC3 12800 DDR3 1600 3x2GB )
PSU ( Cooler Master 1250w )
GPU ( GTX280 X 2 )
Drivers ( 185.68 )
Operating System ( Vista 64)

Frequency Control
CPU Clock Ratio ( 20X )
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) ( 201 )
MCH Strap ( Auto )
CPU Uncore Frequency (Mhz) ( 3221 / 16X )
Spread Spectrum ( Disabled )
PCIE Frequency (Mhz) ( 100 )

Memory Feature
Memory SPD (Standard )
Memory Control Setting (Enabled )
Memory Frequency ( 1067 / 2:8 )
Channel Interleave Setting ( 6 Way )
Rank Interleave Setting ( 4 Way )
Memory Low Gap ( Auto )
tCL Setting ( 9 )
tRCD Setting ( 9 )
tRP Setting ( 9 )
tRAS Setting ( 24 )
tRFC Setting ( 74 )
Command Rate ( 1T )

Voltage Control
EVGA VDroop Control ( With VDroop )
CPU VCore ( 1.325 )
CPU VTT Voltage ( +200mV )
CPU PLL VCore ( Auto )
DIMM Voltage ( 1.625 )
DIMM DQ Vref ( +0mV )
QPI PLL VCore ( 1.3 )
IOH VCore ( 1.3 )
IOH/ICH I/O Voltage ( Auto )
ICH VCore ( 1.25 )
PWM Frequency ( 1067 )

CPU Feature
Intel SpeedStep ( Disabled )
Turbo Mode Function ( Disabled )
CxE Function ( Disabled )
Execute Disable Bit ( Disabled )
Virtualization Technology ( Disabled )
Intel HT Technology ( Disabled )
Slaymate is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 06:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
meat_helmet's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: i7 o/c

Try increasing the timings, or decreasing the speed of the ram. The 2GB stick you have installed probably can run at whatever speed you have it at and those timings, but the other two sticks may not. Or your motherboard may not handle 3 sticks quite as well as just one. Adding more ram normally decreases the chance of a high overclock, even if they are matched.

Check that is not a faulty slot in your motherboard by booting with the single stick in different slots.
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 201
Default Re: i7 o/c

Slots 1 and 5 boot, in slot 3, the computers turns on but turns off after a few seconds. Does that indicate a bad slot?

Slay: Will those figures work with turbo mode on?
insane84722 is offline  
Old 04-15-2009, 07:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Slaymate's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: i7 o/c

Not with the i7 I have right now, but it may work with yours. I have a D0 stepping heading my way so my answer may change soon, I hope. I edited my listing above. I also have hyper-threading disabled right now and I hope my new cpu fixes that also.

If it's not posting in slot 3 you may need to rma your mobo. I have a friend that is an evga tech, if you call ask for Jake tell him Slay sent you

Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying 800 ram and O/C or 1066 Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 09-26-2008 12:23 AM
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe O/C Issue KNiGHTMaRe89 Overclocking and Modding 1 02-26-2008 06:49 PM
o/c 8800gts san21893 Overclocking and Modding 24 09-13-2007 12:48 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.