I need a Hard drive - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2007, 08:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 57
Default

oh another thing i wanted to ask about is sata 2. I hear it is much better and although my computer righ tnow cannot use sata 2 in the future after some upgrade it will. How is sata 2? and is that seagate one bay^^^ a sata 2???
__________________

Devon8822 is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 08:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yes, it's SATA II. Well it's not that much better, but it's the newer interface for hard drives, that replaces the IDE interface.

Heres another one, if you want to bid for the lowest price:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Seagate-500GB-SA...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 01:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TriEclipse
Seagate is generally considered the best, with Western Digital a close second.
LOL. Seagate is better than Western Digital !!! I thought that westren digital was the best.

As I heard, seagate makes more noise than Western Digital
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 04:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Nah, its like eVGA and other GPU manufacturers. eVGA and Seagate are both considered the best in their fields, bar none. The others, say BFG and Western Digital, are still well-respected, and hardly bad companies.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 07:38 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

well i would just get 2 seagates from tigerdirect, they are 80 USD and put them in a Raid 1 Config so u 620 GB but for cheaper price.... or buy 2 and do whatever u want, cuz Windows XP doesn't support 500 GB of hard drive space?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 07:44 AM   #16 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default

WHY DO YOU NEED 500GB, i bet you use only 150gb!
__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 01-22-2007, 07:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 57
Default

I just bought 2 of those seagates on ebay. I want to thank b1gapl and TriEclipse for helping me out along with they other guys. hmmm this sounds like I won a grammy.... wait, did I? ok, im not funny. thanks guys

EDIT: I would like to give a special NON thank you to IceKoldKilla, he didn't help at all infact he acted like a know it all turd burgler.
__________________

Devon8822 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.