I KNOW, I KNOW......but i still need gaming computer help - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2006, 06:25 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9

In that case, you should just stick to DDR 400. I do not see the point in purchasing DDR 500 for more when your motherboard can only support up to DDR 400.

The only difference between:




is basically the heat shield. Your paying a $1 more to get the heat shield.

Thats the only difference I can point out.

LouisR168 is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 08:47 PM   #32 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11

thx for the help

The Fox is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:36 PM   #33 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss

no it means you change the settings in the bios when you first connect your comp it will be run at that speed just overclock your cpu a little and get it to 250*9 or whatever it is go with the DDR500
reckliss is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:01 PM   #34 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992

Originally posted by LouisR168
In that case, you should just stick to DDR 400. I do not see the point in purchasing DDR 500 for more when your motherboard can only support up to DDR 400

Your motherboard Automaticly downs it to DDR400=pc3200, and DDR500 ram is a big plus in OC'ing..

Its up to him, personally Id go with the DDR500...but thats just me

May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 10:03 PM   #35 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543

depends on if he wants to oc
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 06:34 AM   #36 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996

lol, thanks i recalled some problem of compitability with ddr 400 mobo and ddr 500 sticks.. but i guess its not as crucial as i figured Sorry for making a confusion, still you should go with what you'r mobo is built for, unless you are planning to massivly overclock....
Yoad is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 06:52 AM   #37 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130

dude, DO NOT GO WITH THE DDR400, seeing as how ur getting a 3800+, you will definitely need to overclock soon. and the DDR 500 is the best for overclocking. it gives u alot of headroom to overclock ur CPU FSB without having to worry about the ram. so lets say ur multiplier is at 11 * 50Mhz=550Mhz, that means u can get ur cpu to 2.55GHz without having to touch your ram.

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.