I can reach my DSL signal from the coffe shop.....sometimes - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2009, 01:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I can reach my DSL signal from the coffe shop.....sometimes

Quote:
Acer Nplify 802.11b/g/Draft-N WLAN
Says you do, my 8930 has an intel wifi, and i checked if its ensabled in the network tab in device manager.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-22-2009, 04:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: I can reach my DSL signal from the coffe shop.....sometimes

Quote:
Originally Posted by bagelred View Post
Modem/Router is Actiontec GT704WG
That's your biggest problem there. It's only G rated, which gives around 300ft of range, if indoors, and around 1750ft of range if it's unobstructed (quite hard to get, unless you're setting up a roof-top to roof-top connection. Your laptop is Wireless N capable, but you would need a new router. Us here at the Tech-Forums could help you setup a new router, which would be the best solution, honestly.

Newegg.com - BELKIN F5D8236-4 IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g, IEEE802.11n Draft 2 N Wireless Router - Wireless Routers

That would be a great router. I had the G version, and used it until I switched to N.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If I can't get a dsl signal but my neighbor can How can I bonce(?) off his area? Org Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 09-13-2009 04:15 PM
How much can a wireless DSL signal go through and still have a good signal? Org Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 08-20-2009 09:53 PM
EarthLink/ DSL Connection Pezzy Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 01-15-2009 08:13 PM
Windows Vista DSL Modem Saved Settings Redinferno Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 12-30-2008 05:47 AM
Verizon Networking/DSL Problems razorbubble Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 11-16-2008 12:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.