How are your guys's amd 64 cpu temps so low? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2006, 11:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

True, airflow is everything. With my case fans off, my CPU temp will rise to almost 50 degrees celsius.

Edit: BTW, I know this has NOTHING to do with this, but where the **** did Shumway go?
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 11:35 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

I meant to say celcius. I have arctic silver between the heatsink and the processor. I get pretty much the same temperatures as I did with the stock heatsink.
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 11:37 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

You also hacve to remeber that most Athlon temp monitors are faulty or don't give 100% accurate readings.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 11:58 AM   #14 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Ah, you must know everyone reads in Celsius on these forums, you can figure out what F is in C with a simple equation F-32*5/9 = C if you do that in windows calculator real quick you find your system isn't that hot after all, the reverse is C*9/5+32
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.Ē ~ Samuel Jackson

ďOmnis vir est fortunae faberĒ
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 12:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

Ok, my temperature is 46 degrees celcius for the processor.
stainer711 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 12:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

I just overclocked from 2.2 to 2.5 ghz with a 100% load temp of 47-48C. A two degree difference for 300 mhz isn't bad. Maybe I should invest in some case fans. Right now I only have one blowing air out of the back of my case and one blowing air out of the front.
stainer711 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 12:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stainer711
I just overclocked from 2.2 to 2.5 ghz with a 100% load temp of 47-48C. A two degree difference for 300 mhz isn't bad. Maybe I should invest in some case fans. Right now I only have one blowing air out of the back of my case and one blowing air out of the front.
The one in the front should be sucking in. Right now you've got negative pressure inside the case.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 12:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 429
Default

Well, it may be sucking in. They are the two default fans that came with my case and were not set up by me. What you said is likely not happening, as the case manufacturer wouldn't allow it. I'm such a noob.
__________________

stainer711 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.