High End Cpu - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2007, 03:37 AM   #41 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: High End Cpu

heh heh
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 03:41 AM   #42 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: High End Cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
you should not be building your own computer as the only people who fry chips are retards who set their Vcore to insane amounts.
have you seen my baseball?
yay lady! yaaaaay!
i got mail! i got mail! yaaaaay!
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 03:49 PM   #43 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: High End Cpu

O and aonther thing the e6600 only has 4mb of l2 and the extreme has 8 wont that heavily affect performance? and will i be able to play high demanding games like rome total war on max with like 10,000 troops on the battle field with like no lag?
backup287 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 04:30 PM   #44 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default Re: High End Cpu

the x6800 has only 4mb too, unless your talking about the qx6700. Of course the qx6700 has 8mb becuase it is a quad core, but like alot of us have been saying quad cores arn't supported very well right now. Dual cores are just starting to have support with games. Which is why the benchmarks i posted earlier showed that they were getting the same performance at the same speed on current games like oblivion . Also, for some reason, the dual cores were getting a few more frames over the quad cores if you remember the benchmarks.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 05:12 PM   #45 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 61
Default Re: High End Cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
All C2D's are manufactured with the though of every one being an X6800 but due to quality control the ones that run hotter are just underclocked and sold as a lower chip. This means that all have the same Technology and can all reach the same FSB in the end. The X6800 has an unlocked multiplier but you get higher FSB with a lower multi therefore making it useless. You will max out around the same as an E6600.
So really the x6800 can reach those high speeds with better stability than the 6600 right? If it runs cooler, doesn't that give it more potential for running higher since it can be more stable?
__________________
---------------------------
Mutwa is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 06:22 PM   #46 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: High End Cpu

So will an e6600 be able to handle medieval 2 total war with 10,000 troops on the field, max graphics settings and be able to have msn, a download client on and convert a movie without any lag?(unoverclocked because i dont wanna be expected to overclock i mighht not even overclock at all)
backup287 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 07:06 PM   #47 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: High End Cpu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mutwa View Post
So really the x6800 can reach those high speeds with better stability than the 6600 right? If it runs cooler, doesn't that give it more potential for running higher since it can be more stable?
it may be more stable, indeed. but i dont think it will neccessarily overclock any higher (ie the ceiling is going to be very close).
also, pretty much imo, stable is stable...there really isn't more or less. just my opinion.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 07:09 PM   #48 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: High End Cpu

Yea the E6600 and X6800 in the end will max out in overclocks around the same with not much of temp differences.
Sora is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 08:29 PM   #49 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: High End Cpu

well do you guys know if it will do it?play the game and do all the others at the same time with good frame rate?
backup287 is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 08:41 PM   #50 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: High End Cpu

I mean I would expect it would do it well but if you want max performance overclock it....Your not going to even come close to the speed some people have by overclocking. Still it's literally one of the fastest chips out so what do you expect?
__________________

Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.