Help please... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2007, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Help please...

Ok, so I'm STILL having problem with my computer not posting. I've tried a new mobo AND a new PSU and can't seem to find the problem. Its not the RAM, CPU or GPU b/c those all worked in diff systems. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 04:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Help please...

:S the only part left untested is the HD then. Maybe a corrupted windows install? I can't see that making it not post though.. Try testing the HD in another pc, maybe format it.
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Help please...

Do all the fans turn on?

Make sure everything is plugged in properly - it sounds basic but i know i have forgotten things and it hasnt posted.

Also try using different slots, and combinations for the ram. Sometime you can get dud slots.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 09:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: Help please...

if it is the HD, what os are you using?
Theres a known issue that if you install vista, then try to install XP over it, it corrupts you HD.
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 09:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: Help please...

thanks for all the help, i tried switching around the ram to diff slots, and only using one stick, etc...no no avail. all the fans do turn on when i press the power button. and ive used XP pro since the beginning with no other OS installed. im 99.99% sure everything's plugged in properly. There's no 4-pin molex alt power supply on the mobo, so i know im not missing that. other than that i have the cpu power plugged in, the 24pin main power, the gpu power, all the fans, HDD, and dvd drives.

any other suggestions?
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 10:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default Re: Help please...

i dont mean to insult your intelligence, but u asked for any suggestions. U did use the motherboard stand-offs when constructing the system, didnt you? and just try resetting the bios after everything is hooked up.
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: Help please...

Whenever this happens to my pc it's because the SATA cable on the HD fell off, try checking too see if your SATA cable is connected well onto your HD.
__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 11-26-2007, 10:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: Help please...

Quote:
Originally Posted by suicide007 View Post
i dont mean to insult your intelligence, but u asked for any suggestions. U did use the motherboard stand-offs when constructing the system, didnt you? and just try resetting the bios after everything is hooked up.
do you mean just popping out the CMOS battery or like, flashing the BIOS and reinstalling it?
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 09:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Help please...

Does it beep when you turn it on? Or does it make several beeps?

If the fans turn on then your PSU is supplying power. And yes try unplugging the power chord, then take out the cmos battery, wait 30seconds, and then put it back in. That will clear the cmos, but still may not work.

Have you just set this up, or where you trying to overclock or something??
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 01:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Help please...

chances are the mobo is not installed correctly
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.