~~ Help for a new Comp =) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2006, 08:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default ~~ Help for a new Comp =)

Hey!

After having spent almost 6 years with my old computer I think it's finally time to move on!

I've got around 1000-1100€ (about 1270-1400$) and would like to ask you if it would be smart to spend those on a new computer now (I've really got urges for some hardcore gaming again lol) and if you could help putting me the pieces together? I need everything apart from the Screen, Keyboard and Mouse.

Generally it would mostly be for gaming, music, videos, some photoshopping and normal Internet use!

I'm still in a dilemma between Core 2 Duo and AM2, but I think with my price range it's better to go for a Core 2 Duo E6600?

Now I don't really know a lot about Intel mainboards and RAM compability, since until very short ago I was convinced about getting an AMD rig.. =[ So it would be nice of you to help me out there I'm thinking of 1-2gb Corsair low latency RAMs, are those still good?

For the HD I guess everything around 160-200gb should do fine, or would it be smart getting those Raptors from WD with 10.000 rpm?

Oh and one more question: I've got a ATI Radeon 9000 with an AGP slot, would I be able to use it in the new computer to wait for the G80 series, or do I have to get a new graphic card right away?

I hope I didn't ask too many stupid questions and that you can help me =)

Thanks in advance,

Tawy
__________________

Tawy is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 09:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

With that price range, an e6600 is good. But if things start to get a little expensive, you can go for an e6300 which is good too. And of the any of the C2Ds beats the AM2. For the HD, 10k rpm isn't a big deal, unless you want faster load times. But that isn't worth for the price. You would probably have to get a new graphic card. You can go for a cheap graphic card to hold you, until about 2 weeks...which the G80 will release. Welcome to TF btw.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 01:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 87
Default

you could use your old graphics card, there is an Asrock motherboard that has 1x Pci-e slot and 1x AGP slot. it also has DDR1 & 2 slots and supports intel conroe core 2 duos like the processor you want.
__________________
http://img262.imageshack.us/img262/9...gfinal2ld2.jpg
__________________
CPU: Intel Q6600 Quad @ 2.4 Ghz per core
Motherboard: ASUS P5B-Deluxe wifi
Hardrives: IDE MAXTOR 80 Gb (Windows)
2x SATA MAXTOR 320 Gbs in raid
Video Card: Nvidia 8800GTS (revised 512mb)
RAM: 6 Gb 667 kingston dual channel
Monitor: ASUS VW192T
Mouse: Microsoft Habu
Power Supply: Topower 1000W
OS: Windows XP x64 edition (to support all ma ram :D)
pat2k5 is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 08:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the replies ^^
Well I guess I could wait another 2 weeks, but will the G80 series already be in stores then? If not I will probably just go for a cheap PCI-e one =)

About the motherboard, I don't want to be prejudicious, but there is a quality difference between Asus/MSI boards and for example AsRock? I think Asus or MSI would do best?

Is it worth getting DDR2 Rams or is there no big difference to DDR1 apart from the price?
Tawy is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 09:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

The G80s should be out by then. And if not just a get a cheap graphic card like you said. I don't really hear about AsRock being reliable or a known brand of motherboards. It is worth getting DDR2 now over DDR.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 01:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Would the CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 be a good choice for the RAMs along with a ASUS P5W DH DELUXE mainboard?


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131025
Tawy is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 03:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

It is a good choice of ram, and should be compatible.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.