Help Me Build My New Rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2007, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default Help Me Build My New Rig

I am going to be building my first rig soon and I need some insight as to which parts to use. I am still undecided if I should get an 8800gts or wait for the ati cards.

I have a budget of no more than $2,000 US, not including a monitor.

I originally thought about a e6600 and 8800gts machine, but I'm not sure anymore.

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

norcal313 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 133
Default

If your really impatient get the 8800GTS if your more patient then wait for the ATI cards. The ATI cards will lower the price of the Nvidia ones if nothing else. right now an E6600 and a 8800GTS would make an awsome rig. I say go for it. You should also get the eVGA nForce 680i, it'll let you upgrade your CPU to quad core in the future. Get some good DDR2 800 ram, and a nice Full ATX case. and you'll be off to the races. of course you'll also need HDD, optical drives, etc.

EDIT: just make sure the first thing you do, if you get that mobo, is update the bios.
__________________

__________________
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/5540/tf20kbo2.jpg
eVGA nForce 680i
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 2.92GHz
eVGA 8800GTS
2 x 1GB Kingston DDR2 800 HyperX
2 x WD Caviar 250GB in RAID 0
Antec TP3 650W
Arctic Cooler 7 Pro
apdrummer is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default

Alright, I'm pretty computer-illiterate so I don't know what updating the bios means. I have priced out a few scenarios using the p5n35 deluxe board and some corsair ddr2 memory.

I just heard a few people say that the ATI cards were going to be much better.
norcal313 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

With a budget of $2000, you can get 8800GTX

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003
CORSAIR XMS2 (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034
XFX GeForce 8800GTX
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150205
MSI 975X Platinum V.2
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130051
SAMSUNG Black 18X DVD+RW
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827151136
COOLER MASTER CM Stacker Black/ Silver
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119042
Western Digital 320GB 7200RPM/16MB
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136003
Antec True Power Trio 650W
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371001

This will cost you less than $2000
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 06:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default

Thanks for the build Maroon.

Here's what I have so far:

Case: Thermaltake Armor Series - $169.99 (or 139.99 with -30.00 mail in rebate)

Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe - $194.99

Video Card: eVGA GeForce 8800GTS (superclocked) - $409.99

PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700W - $154.99 (or 129.99 with -25 MIR)

CPU: C2D e6600 - $317.00

Memory: Corsair XMS2 2GB - $274 (or 234.00 with -40 MIR)

Hard Drive1: WD Raptor X 150GB - $229.99 (199.99 with -30 MIR)

Hard Drive2: WD Caviar 250GB: $74.99

DVD/RW: 2x Samsung 18x DVD-r Burner - $57.98 for two.

OS: Windows XP Home - $89.99



This is just under $2,000 before tax, and without purchasing a monitor. Am I spending money where I don't need to in this build?
norcal313 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 07:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

yea that PSU is an overkill, go with an antec true power trio 550watt it will be more thnen enough to power that build
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 07:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default

Alright, anything else I can improve/switch?
norcal313 is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 02:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 85
Default

The mobo shows 1.8v and the memory I want says 2.1v, how do I resolve this? Or is it even really a problem?
__________________

norcal313 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.