HDD Full - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2009, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
zythyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 111
Exclamation HDD Full

So, my D: drive is where I keep all my non-windows OS stuff like videos, games, programs, music, etc.

It's 1TB and now it's almost full. I am planning on buying a 2TB HDD from WD (probably a Caviar black or something), but I have no clue how to transfer all my data from the D: drive on to this new HDD. Is there a program to do this for me or do I have to reformat?

Also, will my program / game assosciations like registry information be broken if I transfer all the data to a new HDD?

Thanks in advance.

EDIT:
Would the most effecient way of doing this be: keeping all my progs / games on my 1TB (which equates to about 100GB of data), then purchase a 2TB and put all my personal files on that (which equates to about 720GB), leaving my 300GB HDD for the Windows OS?
__________________

zythyl is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
kimsland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Default Re: HDD Full

Quote:
Originally Posted by zythyl View Post
It's 1TB and now it's almost full.
Um, Wow



Quote:
Originally Posted by zythyl View Post
I am planning on buying a 2TB HDD
Probably a good idea



Quote:
Originally Posted by zythyl View Post
Is there a program to do this for me or do I have to reformat?
? Are you saying that you are happy to format, and lose all your stuff? I'm unsure what you mean by this(?)



Quote:
Originally Posted by zythyl View Post
Also, will my program / game assosciations like registry information be broken if I transfer all the data to a new HDD?
Yes, some games look for your game data in their prescibed folders, therefore your saved game data may not exist when you play your game next

"Programs" should never be moved
You are best to uninstall the program and re-install it again


Quote:
Originally Posted by zythyl View Post
EDIT:
Would the most effecient way of doing this be: keeping all my progs / games on my 1TB (which equates to about 100GB of data), then purchase a 2TB and put all my personal files on that (which equates to about 720GB), leaving my 300GB HDD for the Windows OS?
I think that would be best for the moment, until you get all your programs and data safe
I would plug in the new 3rd Hard Drive and start copying over what you want to put on the new drive
Then once confirmed the data is ok, start removing it from the old drive (note this may include uninstall of programs)
__________________

kimsland is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 01:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
zythyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 111
Default Re: HDD Full

Thanks for the reply.

Just to clarify: I now plan on having three HDD's: one for the OS, one for installd games / apps, and the other for vids, music, pics, etc. (I concluded this would be probably the most efficient thing to do).

And what I meant by reformatting was, last time I installed a new HDD, I had to reformat for some reason (can't remember why) - and was wondering whether I'd have to do this again. But now I know all I'm doing is transfering all my non-registry-linked files (music, work files etc) to the new 2TB.
zythyl is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 01:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
kimsland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Default Re: HDD Full

Yes you may need to format the new drive
You can do this is Disk Management in Control Panel>Administrative Tools
kimsland is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 01:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
zythyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 111
Default Re: HDD Full

Cheers.

Wish me luck.
zythyl is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 01:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
kimsland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Default Re: HDD Full

Quote:
Originally Posted by zythyl View Post
Just to clarify: I now plan on having three HDD's
Yes that's right
Good luck
kimsland is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 01:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: HDD Full

format the new drive

copy all of the data from the old to the new (do this by enabling the showing of hidden/system files)

shut down

remove old hdd, hook up new one the same way the old one was hooked upo

reboot

go into disk management and make sure the drive letter is now the same as it was before (if necessary)

you may need to do this from a different computer since sometimes windows has a fit about copying files in use.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange HDD Issue g2k556 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-30-2009 11:44 PM
My pc doesnt rcognize my HDD in Vista 64 =OS=SPIRO= Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 06-01-2009 05:09 PM
HDD Stops my computer from booting? Sydzy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 04-06-2009 10:51 PM
HDD problems and other issues -RockMan- Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 07-28-2008 02:39 PM
HDD loses USB 2.0 when it encounters bad sector AbeAbe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-27-2007 09:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.