Handling a CPU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2008, 10:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Question Handling a CPU?

hi, my new stuff should be here on thursday, just wondering how should i touch the cpu to put it in? i read that u should use gloves blah blah. what kind of gloves? I believe the Arctic freezer 7 pro has the thermal paste already on it, so i dont have to worry about that.
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: Handling a CPU?

I never used gloves when I handled mine. Just handle it by the sides and try not to touch the top/bottom (pins) of the CPU. If you do touch the top, just clean it off with alcohol (which is what I did when I had touched the top).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Handling a CPU?

Always touch metal (the side panel of your case should do fine) before handling the CPU, and also touch it only around the edges like you would a CD or DVD.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 01:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Handling a CPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I never used gloves when I handled mine. Just handle it by the sides and try not to touch the top/bottom (pins) of the CPU. If you do touch the top, just clean it off with alcohol (which is what I did when I had touched the top).
I used hydrogen peroxide on mine, works just as good.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 01:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Handling a CPU?

After lapping my cpu I cleaned both top and bottom with alcohol before putting it to use.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 02:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Handling a CPU?

I just hold it in the palm of my hand.. Its not THAT delicate guys
alexsabree is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 03:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Handling a CPU?

Me too , Intel doesn't use pins but i hold it by the sides, then place it in the Motherboard.
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 03:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Handling a CPU?

use the edges of the CPU and handle them by those
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 03:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Handling a CPU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsabree View Post
I just hold it in the palm of my hand.. Its not THAT delicate guys
Eh the $300 I spent for my processor was delicate lol :-P
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 07:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
braz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: Handling a CPU?

wow never knew cpus where that fragile lol. My 3200+ im using right now (e8400 on the way. Since when is Newegg in canada?) i applied the thermal paste with my finger tip lol, no problem with it. I will be more gentle with my precious e8400 though.
__________________

__________________

|Steam-Braz90|*
braz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is a 1:1 overclock? aetherh4cker Overclocking and Modding 22 01-17-2008 04:02 PM
Cpu And Ram questions(and Advise for new my comp) DragenFear System Upgrades 20 01-06-2008 07:19 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.